Thom Yorke and Flea’s Atoms for Peace Prepping New Album


Story by Cat Badra

Atoms for Peace project featuring members of Radiohead and Red Hot Chili Peppers to release debut about 2013

Atoms for Peace — the star-studded musical project that features Radiohead frontman Thom Yorke and bassist Flea from Red Hot Chili Peppers — recently unleashed two remixes to give fans a taste of what’s to come. Now, the guys are getting ready to put out their first studio recording.

The group have posted the video for “Default,” which is the debut single from their upcoming album. The video is pretty trippy, featuring a bunch of tiles that envelope the screen to expose a black-and-white drawing of some bats flying over the ocean.

To help explain the track to fans, Yorke posted a message about Atoms for Peace’s beginnings on Radiohead’s website. “You may have heard that I have a new project called Atoms for Peace,” Yorke stated. “The name comes from some shows of The Eraser that happened a couple of years ago with [percussionist] Mauro [Refosco], [drummer] Joey [Waronker], [Radiohead producer] Nigel [Godrich] and Flea. We got a big buzz from them and discovered loads of energy from transforming the music from electronic to live, and so afterwards, we carried on for a few days in the studio and decided to make it a loose, on-going thing.”

As for when to expect Atoms for Peace’s debut album to arrive, the guys stated they’re shooting for a 2013 release.




Posted by Cat Badra | Alternative, Music, Rock, Rock News

Related Posts