Record Store Day 2017: Pearl Jam, Alice in Chains, Def Leppard + More


Story by Cat Badra

Record Store Day 2017 happens this Saturday, April 22

Record Store Day 2017 will take place this Saturday (April 22), and the folks behind the annual celebration of independent records stores have a full list of vinyl releases ready to go. Pearl Jam, Alice in Chains and Def Leppard are among the artists releasing exclusive sets for this year’s Record Store Day.

Per usual, these Record Store Day releases are only available in locally-owned record shops beginning Saturday.

Eddie Vedder and the guys of Pearl Jam are releasing a special, seven-inch single with the tracks “Breath” and “State of Love and Trust.” Both of those songs were included on the soundtrack to director Cameron Crowe’s famed 1992 grunge movie, “Singles.”

Another ’90s grunge name, Alice in Chains, will release a Record Store Day vinyl exclusive in a gatefold sleeve with two different seven-inch singles. The tracks on the first seven-inch include “What the Hell Have I” and “A Little Bitter,” which both appear on the soundtrack to the 1993 Arnold Schwarzenegger movie, “Last Action Hero.” The second single features “Get Born Again” and “Died,” which marked Alice in Chains’ last recordings with the band’s late singer, Layne Staley.

Digging back into the ’80s, Def Leppard will unleash “The Def Leppard EP,” their original first EP with replica art and picture cover, in conjunction with Record Store Day 2017. The set will mark the beginning of a series of catalogue releases over the next few years for Def Leppard. “The Def Leppard EP” was originally recorded in November of 1978 at Fairview studios in Hull and self-produced by the band. It was originally released in January of 1979.

For the full list of 2017 Record Store Day releases, visit Record Store Day’s website at



Posted by Cat Badra | Alternative, Grunge, Music, Rock, Rock News

Related Posts