Tool and Mastodon Members Comprise Legend of the Seagullmen

Story by Anne Erickson

If you’re a fan of Tool and Mastodon, here’s a new band to check out. Legend of the Seagullmen is a “cinematic psychedelic rock” outfit featuring Tool drummer Danny Carey and Mastodon guitarist Brent Hinds, and the gang is set to release its much-anticipated, self-titled debut album on Feb. 9.

The band has already released its first song, “Shipswreck,” which is available now at digital outlets. The entire set has a nautical theme, and that’s easy to tell with song titles such as “Ballad of the Deep Sea Diver,” “The Orca” and “Curse of the Red Tide.”

Legend of the Seagullmen features Carey, Hinds, lead vocalist David “The Doctor” Dreyer, director Jimmy Hayward on guitar, Zappa Plays Zappa bass player Pete Griffin, synth player Chris DiGiovanni and guitarist Tim Dawson.

Legend of the Seagullmen first came about back in 2015, but the band’s first-ever concert will be when they open for Primus on New Year’s Eve in Oakland, California.

‘Legend of the Seagullmen’ Track List:

“We are the Seagullmen”
“The Fogger”
“Curse of the Red Tide”
“Legend of the Seagullmen”
“The Orca”
“Rise of the Giant”
“Ballad of the Deep Sea Diver”

Publication date: December 16, 2017



Related Posts