Pearl Jam Bass Player Jeff Ament Details New Album with Solo Project


Story by Anne Erickson

Jeff Ament of Pearl Jam has a new collection of songs on the way with his solo group, Ament

So, when is new Pearl Jam music coming? The guys recently confirmed that they’re working on a new record this year, but before then, Pearl Jam bass player Jeff Ament is gearing up to release a new album on his own. Ament’s new set, called “Heaven/Hell,” will arrive with his solo project, simply named Ament, on May 10. The set features the previously-released single “Safe in the Car,” which includes appearances from Pearl Jam’s Mike McCready and Matt Cameron on the song. View the music video for “Safe in the Car” below.

“I usually end up having a group of songs that goes to (Pearl Jam), and then there are songs that don’t feel right, or they feel too personal,” Ament said of the album in an interview with Rolling Stone. “Maybe I get too far down the road with them lyrically, and I’m either apprehensive to give them to (Eddie Vedder), or it just feels better for it to be in my voice.”

“You keep working on these songs,” he added, “and all of a sudden, you have maybe a little group of three or four.”

Ament even designed the artwork (pictured above) for the new album. The set is available for pre-order via Pearl Jam’s official website.

Pearl Jam’s new album will mark their much-anticipated follow-up to 2013’s “Lightning Bolt.” No word yet on when the album will arrive, but the band has already released a new song from the set, “Can’t Deny Me,” and confirmed more music is on the way.

Jeff Ament’s ‘Here is the Heaven/Hell’ Track List:

“The Noise the Noise”
“The Door”
“Safe in the Car”
“Moment of Impact”
“The Voices”
“Are you Truing?”
“Choose Your Colour”
“Only One”



Related Posts