Rob Halford of Judas Priest to Release New Christmas Album, ‘Celestial’


Rob Halford of Judas Priest – Story and photo by Anne Erickson

Rob Halford will sing Christmas classics and originals on his upcoming holiday collection, “Rob Halford With Family & Friends: Celestial”

It’s no secret that Rob Halford is not only known for his heavy metal hits, he’s also known for his majestic Christmas Music. He released “Halford III: Christmas Songs” back in 2009 to rave reviews, and now, the metal vocalist has announced a new set of Christmas classics.

Halford will release a new Christmas album, titled “Rob Halford With Family & Friends: Celestial,” on Oct. 18 via Legacy Recordings. The following day, he will do a signing CD for LP purchases of the album at FYE Arizona Mills in Tempe, Arizona.

“The great thing about heavy metal is it’s got these kinds of multiple dimensions,” Halford said in a statement. “I think when you look at it from an outside point of view – if you’re not really familiar with the metal scene – it can look pretty intimidating. And it is a very strong, powerful experience. But it comes at different levels. I think the music that we’ve made on ‘Celestial,’ for example, gives a display of that. Metal maniacs – as we call ourselves – are just as ready for the holidays as everybody else. And what we’ve tried to do with this music is to reach out to as many of those metal dimensions as we possibly can.”

Joining Halford on “Celestrial” are his brother (Nigel) on drums, his nephew on bass (Alex, son of Priest bassist Ian Hill), has sister (Sue) on bells and guitarists Robert Jones and Jon Blakey.

The album will feature a mix of originals, such as “Donner and Blitzen” and “Protected by the Light,” and traditional Christmas songs, such as “God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen” and “Joy to the World.” View the music video for “Donner and Blitzen” below.

“I think the holidays for any family are a mixture of fun and excitement and apprehension of the whole event,” Halford said. “The magic of it more than anything else. It’s just a beautiful time of year – which a lot of us wish would be for every day of the year. It’s a beautiful thing as far as bringing families together. So, what better way to celebrate it than with your family, friends…and music. You must have music at Christmas time.”

Rob Halford’s ‘Celestial’ Track List:

Side A
1. Celestial [new song]
2. Donner and Blitzen [new song]
3. God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen
4. Away In A Manger
5. Morning Star [new song]
6. Deck The Halls

Side B
1. Joy To The World
2. O Little Town Of Bethlehem
3. Hark! The Herald Angels Sing
4. The First Noel
5. Good King Wenceslas
6. Protected By The Light [new song]



Related Posts