Testament Unveil ‘Titans of Creation’ New Album Details


Testament’s Chuck Billy – Story by Cat Badra, photo by Anne Erickson

Thrash legends Testament will release their new album, “Titans of Creation,” this spring

The metal men of Testament have been working hard on their follow-up to 2016’s “Brotherhood of the Snake,” and now, the band has officially announced that their new album, “Titans of Creation,” will arrive on April 3 via Nuclear Blast. View the full track list below.

The album features cover art from longtime artist Eliran Kantor, who also did the artwork for Testament’s three previous albums: “Brotherhood of the Snake,” “Dark Roots of Earth” and “The Formation of Damnation.” The thrash legends once again worked with producer Juan Urteaga, who helped out with their “Dark Roots of Earth” record. Andy Sneap, who has also worked with Testament on multiple albums, mixed the set.

“Musically, it’s a lot more thrash, I think, and more old school,” guitarist Eric Peterson said of the new tunes at a press conference for Hellfest last year. “I don’t wanna say Mercyful Fate, but that kind of guitar harmonies and stuff like that,” he previewed, “And lyrically, it’s probably a little bit more storytelling, kind of evil shit, I guess. The label told us to write something evil.”

“It’s definitely faster than the last record,” singer Chuck Billy added at the press conference. “But I think the way we’ve been writing the last couple of records, we work a long time on the riffs, but when we get in the studio is when we really start putting the pressure on ourselves, and I think we’ve been working better under pressure.”

Billy added, “It’s not my favorite time of year when it’s time to write lyrics and get prepared to do the record, so it gets tough. But it really drives us to really reach down and do something. We have some really good stuff on it — some good thrash, some good melodic stuff, some good melodies on the vocals. So there’s a little bit of everything.”

Listen to a new song from Testament, “Night of the Witch,” here.

Testament, ‘Titans of Creation,’ Track List:

1. “Children of the Next Level”
2. “WWII”
3. “Dream Deceiver”
4. “Night of the Witch”
5. “City Of Angels”
6. “Ishtars Gate”
7. “Symptoms”
8. “False Prophet”
9. “The Healers”
10. “Code of Hammurabi”
11. “Curse of Osiris”
12. “Catacombs”



Posted by Cat Badra | Metal, Music, Rock News