AC/DC Confirm Classic Lineup with Brian Johnson, Phil Rudd and More


AC/DC's current lineup features guitarist Angus Young, lead singer Brian Johnson, bass player Cliff Williams, drummer Phil Rudd and Stevie Young.

AC/DC album cover – Story by Charles Ken

The guys of AC/DC are officially back and have announced their current lineup, which includes Brian Johnson and Phil Rudd

Following nearly a full year of teasing, AC/DC have officially confirmed they’re back. The Australian band announced the news via a social post, in which the rock royalty posted a photo announcing the band’s current lineup, which features the surviving members of the “Back in Black” era: guitarist Angus Young, lead singer Brian Johnson, bass player Cliff Williams and drummer Phil Rudd.

In addition to the classic lineup, the current version of AC/DC also features guitarist Stevie Young, the nephew of Angus and the late Malcolm Young.

Johnson is back in AC/DC after leaving the band in 2016 due to medical issues surrounding possible hearing loss. With AC/DC’s “Rock or Bust” tour still a go, Guns N’ Roses frontman Axl Rose took the place of Johnson on the final dates of AC/DC’s tour in 2016.

Williams previously said that he was going to retire after the 2016 tour, so his involvement is a surprise. Likewise, Pudd battled legal issues a few years back, such being arrested for drug possession and threatening to kill, so it’s also somewhat of a surprise to see him back with the band.

Monday (Sept. 28), the group teased something named “Power Up,” which some fans think could be the name of AC/DC’s upcoming follow-up to 2014’s “Rock or Bust.”


View this post on Instagram



A post shared by AC/DC (@acdc) on



Posted by Charles Ken | Music, Rock, Rock News

Related Posts