The Black Keys Preview Five New Songs Off, ‘El Camino’ [First Listen]


Story by Anne Erickson

The Black Keys preview five fresh tracks off, ‘El Camnio’

The Black Keys are their own distinct rock duo, bringing raw, inwardly psychedelic tunes buoyed by Dan Auerbach and Patrick Carney’s exceptional songwriting. The Akron, Ohio-based guys release their latest collection, El Camino, on Tuesday (Dec. 6) via Nonesuch Records, and the buzz is extremely heavy. For fans who want to get an early whiff of the tracks, the duo are offering the chance to hear five fresh songs off El Camino a tad early. Listen to the new vignettes via the widget, below.

Interested parties need only click on the widget, enter their email address, postal code and country and then click on the “submit” button. Then, the tunes will instantly load, below. The chosen tracks include the album’s buzzing lead single, “Lonely Boy” — which currently sits at No. 3 on the alternative rock radio chart — as well as “Gold on the Ceiling,” “Little Black Submarines,” “Sister” and “Run Right Back.” Songs bring the classic Black Keys presentation of swamp fuzz blues, with a distinct groove and gritty alternative rock jive. What do you think of the new tracks?

The Black Keys also recently released an exclusive Black Keys 12” vinyl of the song, “Lonely Boy,” plus “Run Right Back,” as part of National Record Store Day’s “Back to Black Friday” incentive to help traditional record shops thrive over the holidays. The set is available at local record stores around the nation, and for a list of participating establishments, visit Record Store Day’s official website. For more information on that release, as well as other “Back to Black Friday” sets, check out our Black Friday list.

Anne Erickson
Posted by Anne Erickson | Alternative, First Listen, Music, Rock News

Related Posts