Pearl Jam’s Eddie Vedder, Dave Matthews Appear on New Jack Johnson LP


Story by Charles Ken

‘Jack Johnson and Friends – Best of Kokua Festival’ features high-profile rockers

Alternative pop-rock performer Jack Johnson has friends in high places, judging by his latest album. The Hawaiian native released “Jack Johnson and Friends – Best of Kokua Festival” on April 17 via Brushfire Records, and the collection is a 13-track compilation of live performances from various artists at Jack Johnson’s eco-minded benefit concert for the Kokua Hawaii Foundation. The live set packs big names, such as Pearl Jam‘s Eddie Vedder, Ben Harper, Dave Matthews, Willie Nelson, Zach Gill, Jackson Browne, Tim Reynolds, G. Love, Paula Fuga, Ziggy, Damian “Jr. Gong” Marley and others.

Vedder appears on two different tracks off the album: “Constellations,” featuring Johnson, Vedder and Kawika Kahiapo and “I Shall Be Released,” bringing together Johnson, Vedder and Zach Gill. Dave Matthews appears on one track, “A Pirate Looks at Forty,” alongside Johnson and Tim Reynolds.

Proceeds from “Jack Johnson and Friends – Best of Kokua Festival” will benefit the Kokua Hawaii Foundation. For more information on Jack Johnson’s release and tour, head to his official site. In other Pearl Jam news, Vedder recently had to postpone his solo, acoustic tour due to an injury in his right arm caused by a back injury sustained earlier this year. He’s expected to make a full recovery and already rescheduled the run for this fall.

‘Jack Johnson and Friends – Best of Kokua Festival’ Track Listing:

1. Better Together – Jack Johnson with Paula Fuga
2. Cry, Cry, Cry – Ziggy Marley with Jack Johnson & Paula Fuga
3. A Pirate Looks At Forty – Jack Johnson, Dave Matthews & Tim Reynolds
4. Mudfootball – Jack Johnson with Ozomatli & G. Love
5. Constellations – Jack Johnson with Eddie Vedder & Kawika Kahiapo
6. Take It Easy – Jackson Browne with Jack Johnson & John Cruz
7. Island Style – John Cruz with Jack Johnson & Jackson Browne
8. Breakdown – Jack Johnson with Jake Shimabukuro
9. Further On Down The Road – Taj Mahal with Jack Johnson
10. Welcome To Jamrock – Damian “Jr. Gong” Marley with Jack Johnson & Paula Fuga
11. High Tide or Low Tide – Ben Harper & Jack Johnson
12. Blue Eyes Crying In the Rain – Willie Nelson with Jack Johnson & Ben Harper
13. I Shall Be Released – Jack Johnson, Eddie Vedder, Zach Gill & Friends




Posted by Charles Ken | Alternative, Grunge, Music, Rock, Rock News

Related Posts