Led Zeppelin to Reissue First Three Albums with Previously Unreleased Audio


Story by Charles Ken

Led Zeppelin’s first three albums are getting a makeover

Led Zeppelin fans have lots to look forward to this summer. The band first three albums – “Led Zeppelin,” “Led Zeppelin II” and “Led Zeppelin III” — are set to be reissued in deluxe editions on June 3, packed with previously unreleased studio and live recordings. The albums are the first in a broad reissue program that will feature all nine of Zeppelin’s album re-mastered by the one and only Jimmy Page.

These initial three album reissues will arrive in a plethora of formats: a re-mastered CD; a deluxe edition featuring an additional CD of previously unreleased companion audio; vinyl editions of both packages; and a “Super Deluxe Boxed Set,” which will pack the album and companion audio in both CD and vinyl format, as well as an exclusive book of previously unreleased photos, a digital download and a print of the original album cover. A duplication of the band’s original Atlantic Records press kit will also be included in the boxed set version.

Page explained the mysterious companion audio being released, stating, “The material on the companion discs presents a portal to the time of the recording of Led Zeppelin.  It is a selection of work in progress with rough mixes, backing tracks, alternate versions, and new material recorded at the time.”

All of the packages, except digital, are available for pre-order via Led Zeppelin’s official website. View the full track lists for all three reissues below, including companion audio.

‘Led Zeppelin’ Track List:

1.   “Good Times Bad Times”
2.   “Babe I’m Gonna Leave You”
3.   “You Shook Me”
4.   “Dazed And Confused”
5.   “Your Time Is Gonna Come”
6.   “Black Mountain Side”
7.   “Communication Breakdown”
8.   “I Can’t Quit You Baby”
9.   “How Many More Times”

Companion Audio:

Live At The Olympia – Paris, France
October 10, 1969

1.    “Good Times Bad Times/Communication Breakdown”
2.    “I Can’t Quit You Baby”
3.    “Heartbreaker”
4.    “Dazed And Confused”
5.    “White Summer/Black Mountain Side”
6.     “You Shook Me”
7.     “Moby Dick”
8.    “How Many More Times”

‘Led Zeppelin II’ Track List:

1.   “Whole Lotta Love”
2.   “What Is And What Should Never Be”
3.   “The Lemon Song”
4.   “Thank You”
5.   “Heartbreaker”
6.   “Living Loving Maid (She’s Just A Woman)”
7.   “Ramble On”
8.   “Moby Dick”
9.  “Bring It On Home”

Companion Audio:

1.   “Whole Lotta Love”
2.   “What Is And What Should Never Be”
3.   “Thank You”
4.   “Heartbreaker”
5.  “Living Loving Maid (She’s Just A Woman)”
6.   “Ramble On”
7.  “Moby Dick”
8.  “La La”

‘Led Zeppelin III’ Track List:

1.   “Immigrant Song”
2.   “Friends”
3.   “Celebration Day”
4.   “Since I’ve Been Loving You”
5.  “Out On The Tiles”
6.  “Gallows Pole”
7.  “Tangerine”
8.  “That’s The Way”
9.  “Bron-Y-Aur Stomp”
10.  “Hats Off to (Roy) Harper”

Companion Audio:

1.   “The Immigrant Song”
2.   “Friends”
3.   “Celebration Day”
4.   “Since I’ve Been Loving You”
5.  “Bathroom Sound”
6.   “Gallows Pole”
7.  “That’s The Way”
8.  “Jennings Farm Blues”
9.  “Keys to The Highway/Trouble In Mind”



Posted by Charles Ken | Music, Rock, Rock News