Mastodon to Reissue Debut Album, ‘Remission’


Story by Charles Ken

Mastodon’s ‘Remission’ album is getting remixed, remastered and reissued

Atlanta-based metal band Mastodon just released their new album, “Once More ‘Round the Sun,” and now, the band is gearing up for another release. Mastodon’s debut album, “Remission,” will be reissued on Aug. 5 via Relapse Records as a deluxe version.

“Remission” arrived in May of 2002 and features production by Mat Bayles, who went on to produce Mastodon’s second and third albums, “Leviathan” and “Blood Mountain.” The upcoming “Remission” edition features remixed and remastered tracks, and the set’s CD cover art has been boosted to highlight the famed “Remission” horse with 3D embossing and a UV gloss with foil stamping. Art fans will also find more than 24 pages of never-before-released artwork from the album’s original artist, Paul Romano.

Other extras include a ‘Remission’ sticker offered with the CD version and a book including the new Romano artwork and a special drawing of the “Remission” horse with the 2xLP box set, the latter which is limited to 2000 copies worldwide. A black/gold vinyl box set edition will also be available.

Track Listing for Mastodon’s ‘Remission’:

1. “Crusher Destroyer”
2. “March of the Fire Ants”
3. “Where Strides the Behemoth”
4. “Workhorse”
5. “Ol’e Nessie”
6. “Burning Man”
7. “Trainwreck”
8. “Trampled Under Hoof”
9. “Trilobite”
10. “Mother Puncher”
11. “Elephant Man”

Photo by Anne Erickson



Posted by Charles Ken | Metal, Music, Rock, Rock News

Related Posts