Chris Cornell, Royal Blood and More to Appear on ‘Vinyl’ HBO Series


Story by Anne Erickson

The soundtrack for HBO’s ‘Vinyl’ series features music from Chris Cornell and more

“Vinyl” is a new HBO series that tells tales about the music industry in the 1970s. The show, which will premiere next month, will have a soundtrack that features a slew of rock artists, from veterans to new names.

A full-length “Vinyl” soundtrack will arrive on Feb. 12. As the show progresses, each Friday, a new digital EP will be available with music played in that week’s episode. In total, eight EPs will be released, with artists including Chris Cornell, the Strokes’ Julian Casablancas, Royal Blood, the Arcs, fun.’s Nate Ruess and Iggy Pop.

The show will conclude on April 17, and in honor of the program’s finale, a second full-length album, “Vinyl: Music from the HBO Original Series — Volume 1: Finale,” will arrive in digital and physical formats on April 15.

The idea for “Vinyl” came from the Rolling Stones’ Mick Jagger, as well as Martin Scorsese and “Sopranos” executive producer Terence Winter. The idea behind the show revolves around a record label president working to save his company. The show features actors Bobby Cannavale, Olivia Wilde and Ray Romano. Jagger’s son, James, is also in the show, portraying the leader of a punk group.



Related Posts