Chris Cornell, Iggy Pop, Royal Blood and More on ‘Vinyl’ Soundtrack Album


Story by Charles Ken

Chris Cornell contributes a cover of ‘Stay with Me Baby’ to ‘Vinyl’ soundtrack release

Songs performed by Chris Cornell, Iggy Pop, Royal Blood and more will appear on a new soundtrack album from the debut season of HBO’s “Vinyl,” reports The Wall Street Journal. The set, titled “Vinyl: Music from the HBO Original Series — The Essentials: Best of Season 1,” will feature previously released tracks by many artists, but also some new tunes. One of those fresh songs is a cover of the ‘60s soul song “Stay with Me Baby” by Cornell.

“The Essentials” will also pack songs from Elvis Costello, CharlieXCX, the Arcs, Julian Casablancas of the Strokes, Nate Ruess and more.

“Vinyl” tells the tale of the storied music business in New York City in the 1970s. The season finale will air Sunday (April 17).

‘Vinyl: Music From the HBO Original Series — The Essentials: Best of Season 1’ Track Listing:

“Kill the Lights” — Jess Glynne, Alex Newell, DJ Cassidy with Nile Rodgers
“Alright Lady (Let’s Make a Baby)” — Charlie Wilson
“Back Stabbers” — Elvis Costello
“Life on Mars?” — Trey Songz
“I Dig Your Mind” — Iggy Pop
“No Fun” — Charlie XCX
“Strychnine” — John Doe
“Where Are You Now” — Royal Blood
“Watch Your Step” — The Arcs
“Stay with Me Baby” — Chris Cornell
“I’ve Been Wrong So Long” — Ty Taylor
“Woman Like You (A E I Want You)” — Nasty Bits
“Sugar Daddy (Theme from Vinyl)” — Sturgill Simpson
“Venus in Furs” — Julian Casablancas
“Love, I Want You Back” — Charlie Wilson
“Black Coffee” — Humble Pie
“I Wanna Be with You” — Nate Ruess

Follow Audio Ink on Facebook here and Twitter @AudioInkRadio.



Posted by Charles Ken | Alternative, Grunge, Music, Rock, Rock News

Related Posts