Slipknot Announces New Song and New Album, ‘We Are Not Your Kind’


Stone Sour frontman Corey Taylor – Story by Cat Badra, photo by Anne Erickson

Slipknot will release their new album, “We Are Not Your Kind,” in August; hear the band’s new single

The rumors are true. Slipknot is ready to release their much-anticipated new album, “We Are Not Your Kind,” which will mark the band’s follow-up to 2014’s “.5: The Gray Chapter.”

On top of the news of a new album, Slipknot unveiled new masks and the full track list for the album, which is out on Aug. 9, plus a music video for the band’s new song, “Unsainted.” The video was directed by the group’s co-founder M. Shawn “Clown” Crahan.

“This is most time we’ve had to write a record, and work stuff out together,” guitarist Jim Root stated in a press release. “One of my inspirations this time around was those artists that recorded full length albums — not just songs. While the industry is moving toward singles, Slipknot wanted to make an album experience, front to back.”

“These days the art we are making comes with the highest reward, because it’s taken the most time,” Crahan said. “Almost four years to create this emotion and temperature, and the reward now is nothing short of salvation.”

Slipknot will begin a world tour in June, named the Knotfest Roadshow. The trek will begin its U.S. dates July 26 in Mountain View, California. Volbeat, Gojira and Behemoth will open on the run.

Slipknot’s ‘We Are Not Your Kind’ Track List:

“Insert Coin”
“Birth Of The Cruel”
“Death Because Of Death”
“Nero Forte”
“Critical Darling”
“Liar’s Funeral”
“Red Flag”
“What’s Next”
“My Pain”
“Not Long For This World”
“Solway Firth”



Posted by Cat Badra | Music, Rock, Rock News

Related Posts