August Burns Red to Release Christmas Album


Story by Anne Erickson

Lancaster, Pa.-based Christian metal band readies ‘Sleddin’ Hill, A Holiday Album’

Christian metal band August Burns Red are getting into the holiday spirit this year. The Lancaster, Pa., gents have announced they will release their much buzzed-about full-length Christmas album, “August Burns Red presents: Sleddin’ Hill, A Holiday Album,” on Oct. 9.

Seeing that the band have covered a different yuletide classic for the past few years, this full Christmas set should come as little surprise. Musically, the set will offer 13 tracks, both classics (“Jingle Bells,” “Winter Wonderland,” “Rudolph the Red Nosed Reindeer”) and originals. The album also features August Burns Red’s previously released versions of the Christmas classics “O Come, O Come Emmanuel,” “God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen” and “Little Drummer Boy.”

“The idea of doing a full Christmas album has been floating around in the ABR camp for a few years now, but what always held us back was finding the time and energy to write an additional full-length in between touring and writing our regular records,” guitarist and main songwriter JB Brubaker said in a statement.  “After finishing [2011’s] Leveler I finally felt inspired enough to tackle the Christmas album idea.”

Just because this is a Christmas album, that doesn’t mean the band played it safe. Brubaker says he experimented on the set and even took a few cues from alternative punk band Weezer. “Because this was such a different type of album, I was able to get a little more wild with my influences,” Brubaker said. “There’s a section inspired by one of my favorite bands, Beirut. There’s also guitar solo that is an ode to “Blue Album”-era Weezer, and my punk roots are evident all over the album.”

In other band news, August Burns Red will set off on a five-week, 30-city North American tour on Aug. 31 alongside Of Mice & Men, the Color Morale and the Overseer. Find a full list of tour dates on the band’s official website.

Track Listing for ‘August Burns Red presents: Sleddin’ Hill, A Holiday Album’:

1. Flurries
2. Frosty the Snowman
3. Sleigh Ride
4. God Rest Ye’ Merry Gentlemen
5. Jingle Bells
6. Oh Holy Night
7. Rudolph the Red Nosed Reindeer
8. Sleddin’ Hill
9. Little Drummer Boy
10. Winter Wonderland
11. O Come, O Come Emmanuel
12. Carol of the Bells (2012)
13. We Wish You a Merry Christmas




Posted by Anne Erickson | Christian Metal and Rock News, Metal, Music, Rock News

Related Posts