Death Cab for Cutie to Release Limited-Edition Vinyl Box Set


Story by Anne Erickson

Death Cab for Cutie prepping limited-edition box set featuring five of the band’s albums

Death Cab for Cutie have never done things like everybody else, so it should come as little surprise that the alternative band is planning to release a new vinyl box set for their fans, but not quite in time for typical holiday shopping. The guys will unleash their new, limited-edition collection on Jan. 7, and the set will feature high-quality vinyl versions of all of the group’s studio albums. Look for it to arrive on Seattle-based indie label Barsuk Records.

Specifically, the box set will offer five of the group’s full-length releases: 1997’s “You Can Play These Songs with Chords,” 1998’s “Something About Airplanes,” 2000’s “We Have the Facts and We’re Voting Yes,” 2001’s “The Photo Album” and 2003’s “Transatlanticism.” Death Cab’s collection will also offer two EPs: 2000’s “The Forbidden Love” EP and 2002’s “The Stability EP.” Needless to say, there’s a lot of material here.

While the set offers a ton of great Death Cab for Cutie jams, there’s a catch: It will run you $225. But, it might be worth it to the ultimate fan, as just 1,500 copies will be available for sale, and each will include original album art and autographs from the band. For more information or to pre-order the full collection, head to


Anne Erickson
Posted by Anne Erickson | Alternative, Music, Rock News

Related Posts