Chris Cornell Writes New Song for ’12 Years a Slave’ Soundtrack


Story by Anne Erickson

Chris Cornell appears on the official soundtrack album inspired by ’12 Years a Slave’

Soundgarden frontman Chris Cornell has penned a new tune called “Misery Chain,” and the song is set to appear exclusively on the official soundtrack album inspired by the new drama, “12 Years a Slave.” “Misery Chain,” which also features some vocals by singer/songwriter Joy Williams, is one of roughly “a hundred different songs” Cornell wrote for the album. In the end, it simply fit the best.

“I was moved by this film and the story in a way that transcends any film experience I have ever had,” Cornell said in a statement. “Compassion, basic human rights and love must be our priorities above race, religion or commerce. Every generation needs a reminder of that simple idea.”

The soundtrack album will be released digitally on November 5, followed by a physical release on November 19.

‘12 Years a Slave’ Soundtrack:

“Devil’s Dream” — Tim Fain
“Roll Jordan Roll” — John Legend
“Freight Train” — Gary Clark Jr.
“Yarney’s Waltz” — Tim Fain and Caitlin Sullivan
“Driva Man” — Alabama Shakes
“My Lord Sunshine (Sunrise)” — David Hughey and Roosevelt Credit
“Move” — John Legend feat. Fink
“Washington” — Hans Zimmer
“(In the Evening) When the Sun Goes Down” — Gary Clark Jr.
“Queen of the Field (Patsey’s Song)” — Alicia Keys
“Solomon” — Hans Zimmer
“Little Girl Blue” — Laura Mvula
“Misery Chain” — Chris Cornell featuring Joy Williams
“Roll Jordan Roll” — Topsy Chapman featuring Chiwetel Ejiofor and Cast
“Money Musk” — Tim Fain
“What Does Freedom Mean (to a Free Man)” — Cody Chesnutt

Anne Erickson
Posted by Anne Erickson | Alternative, Grunge, Rock, Rock News

Related Posts