Islander Announce New Album, ‘Power Under Control’


Story by Anne Erickson

New tunes from South Carolina’s Islander are on the way

South Carolina rock band Islander has unleashed details on their sophomore album, “Power Under Control.” The new release will arrive on Aug. 5.

“‘Power Under Control’ is a concept album dealing with several characters,” singer Mikey Carvajal said in a statement. “The songs stand on their own, but are meant to be listened in the same way that a book is to be read.”

The band posted a new single off the album, “Darkness,” and an associated video via YouTube.

“Power Under Control” follows Islander’s debut album, 2014’s “Violence & Destruction,” which put the guys on the active rock radio chart with their singles “Coconut Dracula” and “New Wave.” The upcoming release marks the band’s first with new drummer Arin Ilejay, who used to play drums in Avenged Sevenfold.

Audio Ink Radio’s Anne Erickson caught up with Islander frontman Mikey Carvajal at Mayhem Festival in 2014. He’s an active member of the Christian organization Whosoevers. Watch a videoo interview with Carvajal below, where he talks about the Whosoevers and more.

Islander’s ‘Power Under Control’ Track List:

“Bad Guy”
“Green Slime Man”
“Better Day”
“All We Need”
“Devil Red”
“A Boat Going By”
“Think It Over” (feat. HR)
“Last Forever”
“Wait for It”

Watch Audio Ink Radio’s Pit Diary with Islander:

Follow Audio Ink Radio on Facebook here, Twitter @AudioInkRadio and Instagram here.



Related Posts