Alter Bridge Unveil ‘The Last Hero’ Album Details


Photo by Anne Erickson.

Alter Bridge single ‘Show Me a Leader’ is a fist-pumping anthem

Alter Bridge have released details about their upcoming, fifth studio album, “The Last Hero,” out Oct. 7. The band – which includes frontman Myles Kennedy, guitarist Mark Tremonti, bass player Brian Marshall and drummer Scott Phillips – has released the first track from the release, “Show Me a Leader.”

“Show Me a Leader” is a fist-pumping anthem with Kennedy’s sky-high tenor breaking through Tremonti’s wall of edgy guitars. If it’s a sign of what’s to come on “The Last Hero,” then listeners can expect a set that brings together heavy, hard rock and metal sounds with a melodic appeal.

“Lyrically, it reflects the frustrations that a lot of people are feeling with the current state of the world,” Kennedy said of “Show Me a Leader” in a release. “The world is looking for trustworthy effective leadership and not this undignified dog and pony show that’s really made a mockery of our system.”

“It’s indicative of our process,” added Tremonti. “Myles had this guitar intro that I loved, and I had the chorus. We put them together. The words call out for a proper leader.”

Michael “Elvis” Baskette (Slash, Trivium, Tremonti) produced the set, and Ted Jensen mastered the relesae.

“The Last Hero” is available for pre-order via iTunes, Amazon and Google Play. Those who pre-order the album will receive an instant download of the single “Show Me a Leader.”

The guys of Alter Bridge are currently on the road with Disturbed, Breaking Benjamin and Saint Asonia. They’ll set off on a headlining tour in September. For more on Alter Bridge, including current tour dates, head to

Audio Ink Radio’s Anne Erickson was at Alter Bridge’s first headlining show of the year at The Intersection in Grand Rapids. Check out the review here.

Alter Bridge, ‘The Last Hero’ Track Listing:

1. “Show Me a Leader”
2. “The Writing on the Wall”
3. “The Other Side”
4. “My Champion”
5. “Poison in Your Veins”
6. “Cradle to the Grave”
7. “Losing Patience”
8. “This Side of Fate”
9. “You Will Be Remembered”
10. “Crows on a Wire”
11. “Twilight”
12. “Island of Fools”
13. “The Last Hero”

Photo credit: Anne Erickson

Follow Audio Ink Radio on Facebook here and Twitter @AudioInkRadio.



Related Posts