Puscifer Announce New Album, ‘Existential Reckoning’


Puscifer – Story by Charles Ken, photo by Tim Cadiente

Puscifer detail Billy D.’s alien abduction with their new album, “Existential Reckoning”

Back in May, Maynard James Keenan and Puscifer released a new song and music video for “Apocalyptical,” and also hinted at a full album on the way. Now, the band has officially announced their new album, “Existential Reckoning,” and the theme is a wild one.

“Existential Reckoning” is about Billy D.’s alien abduction and his storied briefcase, which supposedly holds special secrets. Puscifer also released a new song off the album, “The Underwhelming,” which surrounds the idea of finding Billy D and those unique files.

Musically, “The Underwhelming” features a light, relentless beat and heavy guitars, rounded out by Keenan’s calm singing and a robotic kind of delivery. Listen to the song via YouTube below.

Puscifer recorded “Existential Reckoning” at the band’s Puscifer Studios in North Hollywood. Mat Mitchell of the band mixed the set. In addition to Keenan and Mitchell, Puscifer features longtime band member Carina Round, along with a few new player for the recording of “Existential Reckoning,” including bass player Greg Edwards of Failure and drummers Gunnar Olsen and Sarah Jones.

“Existential Reckoning” marks Puscifer’s follow-up to 2015’s “Money Shot.” The album will arrive on Oct. 30. View the track list for the set below.

Puscifer’s “Existential Reckoning” Track List:

“Bread and Circus”
“The Underwhelming”
“Grey Area 5.1”
“Bullet Train to Iowa”
“Personal Prometheus”
“A Singularity”
“Fake Affront”



Posted by Charles Ken | Music, Rock, Rock News