Cheap Trick Announce New Album, ‘In Another World’; Release First Single, ‘Light Up the Fire’


Cheap Trick performing live at DTE Energy Music Theatre in Clarkston, Michigan, in 2018. Listen to a new Cheap Trick song, "Light Up the Fire," off the band's upcoming album, "In Another World."

Cheap Trick – Story by Cat Badra, photo by Anne Erickson

Listen to a new Cheap Trick song, “Light Up the Fire,” off the band’s upcoming album, “In Another World”

After some teasing, Cheap Trick have officially announced that their new studio album, “In Another World,” will arrive on April 9. Along with the album announcement, the classic rockers have released a new song from the set, “Light Up the Fire,” which is available digitally and can be streamed via YouTube below.

The upcoming album will mark Cheap Trick’s 20th studio album and be available on CD, vinyl and in digital formats in a variety of packages. The band is also offering a limited-edition LP pressed on blue-and-white-splattered vinyl exclusively at independent record stores around the U.S., plus a limited-edition picture-disc edition of the album at Target.

“This band is held together by music,” Cheap Trick singer Robin Zander said in a statement. “It’s the super glue that keeps us writing and putting records out. The reason we started the band in the first place was to tour and write songs and put records out. If all that went away, there would be no point then, would there?”

In addition to original songs, “In Another World” will also feature Cheap Trick’s cover of the 1971 John Lennon song “Gimme Some Truth,” which includes a guest appearance from Sex Pistols guitarist Steve Jones. The song was previously released as a vinyl single for the Record Store Day Black Friday back in 2019. The record also features a guest harmonica appearance by Wet Willie frontman Jimmy Hall on the song “Final Days.” Cheap Trick’s current lineup includes Zander, guitarist Rick Nielsen, bass guitarist Tom Petersson and drummer Bun E. Carlosis.

Cheap Trick’s ‘In Another World’ Track List:

“Here Comes the Summer”
“Quit Waking Me Up”
“Another World”
“Boys & Girls & Rock N Roll”
“The Party”
“Final Days”
“So It Goes”
“Light Up the Fire”
“Passing Through”
“Here’s Looking at You”
“Another World (Reprise)”
“I’ll See You Again”
“Gimme Some Truth”



Posted by Cat Badra | Music, Rock, Rock News

Related Posts