Heart Guitarist Nancy Wilson Details Debut Solo Album, ‘You and Me’


Nancy Wilson of heart slugging her electric guitar amid a bright red background.

Nancy Wilson – photo by Scarlett Hunter, courtesy photo

Nancy Wilson of Heart joins forces with a bevy of special guests, including Sammy Hagar and Duff McKagan, on her new solo album, “You and Me”

Heart guitarist Nancy Wilson is gearing up to release her debut solo studio album, “You and Me,” on May 7. The album will feature 12 tracks, including a mix of original songs and covers.

When it comes to the cover tracks, Wilson pays tribute to a range of legendary artists and songs from the rock world, including Pearl Jam with “Daughter,” Simon & Garfunkel with “The Boxer,” The Cranberries with “Dreams” and Bruce Springsteen with “The Rising,” the former which she released in October 2020. The album also features in instrumental tribute to the late Eddie Van Halen called “4 Edward.”

Wilson wrote and recorded “You and Me” remotely, due to the coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic, but that didn’t stop her from bringing some high-profile guests onto the album. Foo Fighters drummer Taylor Hawkins and Guns N’ Roses bassist Duff McKagan appear on a track called “Party at the Angel Ballroom,” Sammy Hagar performs on her version of “The Boxer” and former Prince backing vocalist Liv Warfield contributes to the song “Dreams.”

“Being off the road last year from touring with Heart, and at home with my good guitars and amps out, I felt like I was once again able to reconnect with my pre-Heart self, my college-girl self, creating poetic, intimate and romantic songs, which pretty much is what I first brought in to Heart,” Wilson said of “You and Me” in a statement.

Wilson will release the title track from “You and Me” on March 8, the same day that the record will be available for pre-order. Wilson wrote the song with Sue Ennis, who co-write many songs for Heart with Nancy and her sister Ann.

Nancy Wilson’s “You and Me” Track List:

“You and Me”
“The Rising”
“I’ll Find You”
“Party at the Angel Ballroom” (with Duff McKagan & Taylor Hawkins)
“The Boxer” (with Sammy Hagar)
“Walk Away”
“The Inbetween”
“Dreams” (with Liv Warfield)
“The Dragon”
“We Meet Again”
“4 Edward”



Posted by Scarlett Hunter | Music, Rock, Rock News