System of a Down Vocalist Serj Tankian Announces ‘Elasticity’ EP Details


Pictured: Serj Tankian of System of a Down. Tankian has released the title track off his upcoming solo EP, "Elasticity."

Serj Tankian – Story by Charles Ken, photo by George Tonikian

System of a Down’s Serj Tankian has released the title track off his upcoming solo EP, “Elasticity”

Serj Tankian of System of a Down has released a new solo song called “Elasticity,” which is the title track from Tankian’s upcoming solo EP. The track, which is currently available for download via digital outlets, features Tankian’s airy vocals amid edgy guitars and a synth beat, similar to what Tankian delivers with System of a Down.

In addition to the song, Tankian has released a music video for “Elasticity” that depicts a young woman trapped in a room, obviously in turmoil but lovingly looking at a tattoo of the System of a Down vocalist on her forearm. Watch the “Elasticity” music video via YouTube below.

Tankian will release the full “Elasticity” EP on March 19 via Alchemy Recordings/BMG. System of a Down fans will note that album’s name is a cheeky reference to the band’s 2001 album, “Toxicity.”

“When I conceived possibly doing another record with the guys from System of a Down a few years back, I started working on a set of songs that I arranged in rock format for that purpose,” Tankian said in a statement. “As we weren’t able to see eye to eye on the vision going forward with an SOAD album, I decided to release these songs under my moniker.”

Whether or when System of a Down will release a new album is very much up in the air, but the band did unleash two new songs — “Protect the Land” and “Genocidal Humanoidz” — last fall. The songs were released to benefit their homeland of Armenia during its war with Azerbaijan. “Protect the Land” and “Genocidal Humanoidz” also marked the first new songs from System of a Down in 15 years.

Tankian is also profiled in the upcoming film, “Truth to Power,” featuring exclusive interviews, adventures and original footage personally filmed by Tankian. “Truth To Power” will arrive on Feb. 19 via Oscilloscope Laboratories and Live Nation Production.

Serj Tankian’s “Elasticity” Track List:

“Your Mom”
“How Many Times?”
“Electric Yerevan”



Posted by Charles Ken | Metal, Music, Rock, Rock News