Black Label Society Return with New Album, ‘Doom Crew Inc.’


The member of Black Label Society standing in a dark room. It's the band's 2021 press photo.

Black Label Society – Story by Anne Erickson, photo by Justin Reich

Black Label Society have a hard-charging new song out, ‘Set You Free,’ off the metal band’s upcoming studio album

Zakk Wylde and Black Label Society are back. The longstanding metal band recently released a new song, “Set You Free,” and announced that their latest studio album, “Doom Crew Inc.,” will arrive Nov. 26 via eOne.

The current lineup for Black Label Society includes Wylde alongside guitarist Dario Lorina, bass player John “J.D.” Deservio and drummer Jeff Fabb. The players recorded the album at Zakk’s famed Black Vatican studio, marking the fourth album the band has recorded at his house.

“Ever since ‘Order of the Black,’ we make all of the Black Label donuts up here,” Wylde said in a statement. “We make them, put them in the oven, and then box them up and ship them out.”

Wylde says Lorina was a major part of the upcoming album- even more so than on previous releases. “We incorporated Father Dario even more into the solos, doubling with me and being more involved in that regard,” Wylde said in a statement. “It really, truly is a two-guitar album, more so than ever. A twin guitar band, whether it’s the Allman Brothers or Judas Priest, with harmony lines, unison lines, and trading off solos. It stemmed from the live shows, where we’d both go into the crowd and extend songs like ‘Fire It Up.'”

Listen to the hard-charging “Set You Free” below. Black Label Society will also embark on the “Doom Trooping Over North America” tour beginning in October with openers Obituary and Prong. The tour kicks off Oct. 1 in Sacramento, California, and runs through a Nov. 28 date in Albuquerque. Find Black Label Society tour dates here.

Black Label Society’s ‘Doom Crew Inc.’ Track List:

1. Set You Free
2. Destroy & Conquer
3. You Made Me Want to Live
4. Forever and a Day
5. End of Days
6. Ruins
7. Forsaken
8. Love Reign Down
9. Gospel of Lies
10. Shelter Me
11. Gather All My Sins

Anne Erickson
Latest posts by Anne Erickson (see all)
Posted by Anne Erickson | Metal, Music, Rock News

Related Posts