Dave Mustaine, Peter Criss and Carla Harvey Featured on New John 5 Album


John 5 of Rob Zombie's band poses for a press photo.

John 5 – Story by Cat Badra, courtesy photo via John 5

Rob Zombie guitarist John 5 has a new solo album on the way, featuring collaborations with several high-profile musicians

John 5 is gearing up to release a new solo album. The Rob Zombie guitarist has announced that his new record, “Sinner,” will arrive Oct. 29 release via Big Machine Records.

For “Sinner,” John 5 team up with some big names for collaborations, including Dave Mustaine of Megadeth, Carla Harvey of Butcher Babies and Peter Criss of Kiss. In addition to the album announcement, John 5 released the Mustaine collaboration, “Que Pasa,” which he’s already been performing live at solo shows. Listen to the fiery new song below.

“I have such an appreciation for Dave, and I love his voice, guitar playing and songwriting,” the guitarist said in a statement. “And he kills it on ‘Que Pasa.’ It was such a joy to have him on this track.”

“Que Pasa” marks John 5’s his first since 2019. The record, which is packed with John 5’s towering riffing, was produced and mixed by Barry Pointer at Riott House Studio in North Hollywood, California. Former Guns N’ Roses guitarist Gilby Clarke engineered drums at Redrum Recording in Los Angeles.

“When people hear this record, I want them to say, ‘Oh, that’s John 5.’ What you get with Sinner is the best of me,” John 5 said. “I just want to write memorable riffs that people will enjoy. When I sit on my couch and play my guitar, I play the same things you hear on the instrumental records. It’s honest. It’s real. It’s not a façade. This is how I play. This is what I love to do.”

View the full track list for “Sinner” below. Find pre-order information on the album here.

John 5, “Sinner,” Track List:

01. Welcome to the Island
02. For I Have Sinned
03. Euphoria (feat. Carla Harvey)
04. Que Pasa (feat. Dave Mustaine)
05. How High the Moon
06. Creepshow
07. Land of the Misfit Toys
08. Crazy Little Thing Called Love
09. This Is How I Do It
10. Georgia on My Mind (feat. Peter Criss)

Posted by Cat Badra | Metal, Music, Rock, Rock News