Ozzy Osbourne to Release Two Live Tracks Digitally for the First Time with ‘Diary of a Madman’ 40th Anniversary Set


Ozzy Osbourne, in a black and white photo.

Ozzy Osbourne publicity photo – Story by Cat Badra

Ozzy Osbourne’s seminal “Diary of a Madman” album turns 40 this year, and to commemorate the occasion, an expanded digital edition of the record is on the way

Ozzy Osbourne is celebrating a plethora of musical anniversaries and milestones in 2021. Now, the iconic metal musician has announced a 40th anniversary expanded digital edition of his seminal 1981 record, “Diary of a Madman,” which arrive Friday (Nov. 5).

“Diary of a Madman” is one of Osbourne’s classic records. For fans of his early work, it holds special meaning, as the album marked his last studio release featuring the guitarwork of Randy Rhoads, who tragically passed away in a plane crash in 1982.

The expanded edition features all of the tracks on the original album, as well as two live recordings that have never been available digitally: “Flying High Again” and “Believer.” As for hits, the album is known for its sludgy opener, “Over the Mountain,” which is still a regular on rock radio.

In addition to the release of the expanded digital version of “Diary of a Madman,” Ozzy has teamed with Dogtown to release an exclusive, limited edition skate deck and apparel collection. Only 200 skateboards will be available, and they’ll depict art from Sean Cliver on decks with a silver metal flake dusting designed by Jim “Red Dog” Muir. The skateboards were crafted by Paul Schmitt at PS Stix and hand silk-screened by Chicken at Screaming Squeegees.

For those who want to celebrate the 40th anniversary of “Diary of a Madman” in style, Dogtown is also offering a limited run of Ozzy T-shirts and hoodies. For more information on the “Diary of a Madman” merchandise, as well as the skateboards, visit the Dogtown website.

Earlier this year, Osbourne commemorated the 30th anniversary of his “No More Tears” album with a vinyl reissue, as well as the 20th anniversary of his “Down to Earth” release with an expanded digital edition.

Diary of a Madman 40th Anniversary Expanded Digital Edition Track List:

01. Over the Mountain
02. Flying High Again
03. You Can’t Kill Rock and Roll
04. Believer
05. Little Dolls
06. Tonight
07. S.A.T.O.
08. Diary of a Madman
09. Believer (live) *
10. Flying High Again (live) *
*previously unavailable digitally



Posted by Cat Badra | Metal, Music, Rock News

Related Posts