Soulfly Readying New Album, ‘Totem’



Soulfly – Story by Anne Erickson, courtesy photo

Max Cavalera-fronted Soulfly are back with a new album, “Totem”

Max Cavalera and the guys of Soulfly have announced their new album, “Totem,” out Aug. 5. In advance of the release, the group has posted the album’s lead single, “Superstition.” Stream the song, which features a sharp thrash edge, via YouTube below.

“Totem” was recorded by John Aquilino and Arthur Rizk at Platinum Underground in Mesa, Arizona, and produced by Cavalera and Rizk. The set also brings guest appearances from a long list of metal royalty, including Eternal Champion’s John Powers, Chris Ulsh of Power Trip and Obituary singer John Tardy. Rizk also performed lead guitar on the album. James Bousema created the artwork for the record.

“‘Totem’ is a celebration of the spiritual nature,” Cavalera said in a press release. “It was a two-year journey writing with [my son and Soulfly drummer] Zyon. This album is about all the joy, the fun and the anger in metal.”

A general statement from the press release continues, “Underground icon, extreme metal trailblazer, third world warrior, and leader of a diverse and dedicated tribe, Max Cavalera not only survives but thrives, blasting out riff after killer riff.”

In other news, Cavalera is joining forces with his brother Iggor for a tour in honor of Sepultura’s celebrated records “Beneath the Remains” and “Arise.” That tour sets off May 22 in Albuquerque, New Mexico, and closes out with a June 25 concert in Tempe, Arizona.

To pre-order Soulfly’s upcoming record, “Totem,” go here. View the full track list for the album below.

Soulfly’s ‘Totem” Track List:

1. Superstition
2. Scouring the Vile
3. Filth Upon Filth
4. Rot in Pain
5. The Damage Done
6. Totem
7. Ancestors
8. Ecstasy of Gold
9. Soulfly XII
10. Spirit Animal

Posted by Anne Erickson | Metal, Music, Rock News