Megadeth Announce New Album, ‘The Sick, the Dying… and the Dead!,’ Release New Single, ‘We’ll Be Back’


Megadeth photo by Travis Shinn

Megadeth – Story by Anne Erickson, photo by Travis Shinn

Grammy Award-winning metal band Megadeth will release their much-anticipated new album in September

After months, even years, of anticipation, Megadeth have officially announced their much-anticipated new album, “The Sick, the Dying… and the Dead!” The set will arrive Sept. 2, right in time for the band to play new tunes on their upcoming tour with Five Finger Dealt Punch.

In advance of the new album, Megadeth have also shared a new single, “We’ll Be Back.” It’s a heavy, ripping song, with super fast riffing and heavy drum sounds. Listen to the song below.

Bass guitar on the new single and record was performed by by Steve DiGiorgio, after longtime David Ellefson and the band parted ways last year. Megadeth has since announced their full-time replacement bassist will be James LoMenzo.

“For the first time in a long time, everything that we needed on this record is right in its place,” frontman Dave Mustaine said in a statement. “I can’t wait for the public to get hold of this!”

The album boasts 12 songs, as well as two additional bonus tracks for the digital version. “We’ll Be Back” is being billed as a very “personal” song, likely taking inspiration from Mustaine’s fight with throat cancer. The album is also slated to feature Ice-T on the song “Night Stalkers” and a guest appearance from Sammy Hagar on the bonus track “This Planet’s on Fire (Burn In Hell).”

Megadeth will hit the road this summer with Five Finger Death Punch for a U.S. jaunt. The tour sets off Aug. 19 in Portland, Oregon, and runs through an Oct. 15 date in Salt Lake City, Utah. Tickets are available now via Ticketmaster.

Pre-orders for Megadeth’s new album “The Sick, the Dying… and the Dead!” are available in a variety of formats, including vinyl, CD, cassette, and digitally, via the group’s online store.

Megadeth, ‘The Sick, the Dying… and the Dead!, Track List:

01. The Sick, the Dying… and the Dead!
02. Life in Hell
03. Night Stalkers (feat. Ice T)
04. Dogs of Chernobyl
05. Sacrifice
06. Junkie
07. Psychopathy
08. Killing Time
09. Soldier On!
10. Célebutante
11. Mission to Mars
12. We’ll Be Back
13. Police Truck (Bonus Track)
14. This Planet’s On Fire (Burn In Hell) (feat. Sammy Hagar) (Bonus Track)

Anne Erickson
Latest posts by Anne Erickson (see all)
Posted by Anne Erickson | Metal, Music, Rock News

Related Posts