Candlemass Readying New Album, ‘Sweet Evil Sun’


Candlemass photo by Linda Akerberg

Candlemass – Story by Anne Erickson, photo by Linda Akerberg

Grammy nominated doom metal band Candlemass have announced the details of their new album, “Sweet Evil Sun”

Swedish doom metal greats Candlemass will return with their new album, “Sweet Evil Sun,” on Nov. 18. The release, which will arrive via Napalm Records, features the lead single “Scandinavian Gods,” which is available now.

“Scandinavian Gods” offers a mix of doom, sludge and straight-ahead rock, offering a guitar-heavy song that carries on for more than five minues. The song features original vocalist Johan Längquist, who came back to the band in 2018, singing with thick vocals over long riffs and heavy drums.

“‘Scandinavian Gods’ is Slayer meets Queen and Judas Priest!” guitarist Leif Edling said in a statement. “It’s about heritage and future and the fact that It is sometimes absolutely necessary to leave or at least doubt your old gods. It’s about the hardship in this, and the irony in the fact that you see yourself being drawn back to them over and over again, into these black circles and the forgetfulness of the past. Where do we wanna be? What shall we believe in? Do we need them to build a better future?”

Candlemass hopes that “Sweet Evil Sun” will bring back “all the grandness of their early years, exploring themes of ambition and strife, hope and failure.” The band recorded the album over 18 months at NOX studio in Stockholm, Sweden. Erik Rovanperä, a regular with the band, created the artwork for “Sweet Evil Sun.”

“‘Sweet Evil Sun’ is about hope, striving, adoration and failure,” Edling said regarding the album’s theme. “It’s about all the personal battles that you have, but also the never-ending decay of humanity.”

The upcoming release will mark Candelmass’ 14th studio album and follow-up to their 2019 Grammy-nominated “The Door to Doom.” Listen to “Scandinavian Gods” and view the full track list tracklist below.

Candlemass’ ‘Sweet Evil Sun’ Track List:

1. Wizard Of The Vortex
2. Sweet Evil Sun
3. Angel Battle
4. Black Butterfly
5. When Death Sighs
6. Scandinavian Gods
7. Devil Voodoo
8. Crucified
9. Goddess
10. A Cup Of Coffin (Outro)



Posted by Anne Erickson | Metal, Music, Rock News