Creed, ‘My Own Prison,’ to Be Available on Vinyl for the First Time


Creed My Own Prison

Creed, “My Own Prison” – Story by Charles Ken

Creed’s “My Own Prison” is getting the vinyl treatment

Craft Recordings has announced a special 25th anniversary celebration of Creed’s best-selling debut album, “My Own Prison,” with the album’s first-ever release on vinyl. The new vinyl edition will be available in stores on Dec. 2 and available for preorder here.

“My Own Prison” was Creed’s breakout album, featuring the chart-topping rock hits “One,” “What’s This Life For,” “Torn” and the album’s title track. On top of the release being available on classic black wax, it will also be available in a slew of limited-edition, exclusive variants, including opaque orange (via Revolver), metallic silver (Walmart), and root beer vinyl, available only via Craft Recordings’ official webstore. View the full track list for the reissue below.

“My Own Prison,” out in 1997, brought together Creed’s origial lineup of Scott Stapp (vocals), Mark Tremonti (guitar), Brian Marshal (bass) and Scott Phillips (drums). The group got together in Tallahassee, Florida, in 1994, and started writing music and performing together while attending Florida State University. During one of the band’s early performances, they impressed local club owner and artist manager Jeff Hanson, who started working with the band. Hanson hooked them up with producer, songwriter and musician John Kurzweg, and they recorded “My Own Prison” in his home. The album was a hit in the local area, and the band went on to sign with Wind-Up Records.

“My Own Prison” was reissued by Wind-Up Records in August 1997, only two months after the band’s self-released version. The album was a massive hit and peaked at No.22 on the Billboard 200 in May 1998. All four singles topped the rock radio charts, including “My Own Prison,” “One,” and “What’s This Life For.” The record was eventually certified 6x platinum.

Creed’s ‘My Own Prison’ Track Listing (Vinyl):

A1. Torn
A2. Ode
A3. My Own Prison
A4. Pity For A Dime
A5. In America
B1. Illusion
B2. Unforgiven
B3. Sister
B4. What’s This Life For
B5. One

Charles Ken
Posted by Charles Ken | Music, Rock, Rock News

Related Posts