Greta Van Fleet Announce New Album, ‘Starcatcher’


Greta Van Fleet

Greta Van Fleet – Story by Cat Badra, photo by Neil Krug

Greta Van Fleet say “Starcatcher,” their new album, explores the “contrast between light and darkness”

Michigan rockers Greta Van Fleet will release “Starcatcher,” their upcoming third studio album, on July 21 via Lava/Republic/EMI Records. Ahead of the new album, the band has also unveiled the record’s first single, “Meeting the Master.” Listen to the song and watch the official music video below.

Speaking of the album’s first single, the band said in a collective statement, “‘Meeting the Master’ peers into an esoteric world heeded by the word of a wise teacher. Sung in the voice of a devout believer, and eventual group exclamation, the song details the love these fervent followers have for their teacher and their firm belief in his vision. It’s an exotic spiritual journey. A dark comedy that inevitably ends in chaos.”

As for the recording process, band members – frontman Josh Kizska, guitarist Jake Kizska, bass player and keyboardist Sam Kizska and drummer Danny Wagner – wrote and recorded “Starcatcher” with producer Dave Cobb, known for his work with country artists such as Chris Stapleton and Brandi Carlile. Recording sessions took place at RCA Studios in Nashville. They recorded the old-fashioned way, with the band using a large recording room and jamming out to capture their live energy.

“We didn’t really have to force or be intense about writing, because everything that happened was very instinctual,” Kizska said. “If anything, the record is our perspective, and sums up where we are as a group and individually as musicians.”

Thematically, Greta Van Fleet say “Starcatcher” explores the “duality of fantasy versus reality and the contrast between light and darkness. ”

“We had this idea that we wanted to tell these stories to build a universe,” Wagner said. “We wanted to introduce characters and motifs and these ideas that would come about here and there throughout our careers through this world.”

Pre-save/pre-order “Starcatcher” here. View the official track list for the album below.

Greta Van Fleet, “Starcatcher” Track List:

01. Fate Of The Faithful
02. Waited All Your Life
03. The Falling Sky
04. Sacred The Thread
05. Runway Blues
06. The Indigo Streak
07. Frozen Light
08. The Archer
09. Meeting The Master
10. Farewell For Now

Cat Badra
Posted by Cat Badra | Music, Rock, Rock News

Related Posts