Filter Announce New Album, ‘The Algorithm,’ Share New Song, ‘Obliteration’


Photo of industrial rock band Filter.

Filter, new album “The Algorithm” – Story by Charles Ken, photo by Chapman Baehler

Filter, new album “The Algorithm”: Listen to the new song off the album, “Obliteration”

Industrial rockers Filter are gearing up to release their first new album in seven years, “The Algorithm,” out Aug. 25. In advance of the release, the band has released the new single, “Obliteration,” which sounds a bit different from their usual style. While Filter are known for industrial rock, “Obliteration” has more of an alternative rock, noise-pop and experimental character.

While the song’s arrangement sounds pop-oriented a bit upbeat, the track’s lyrics are dark. “Ashes circle the drain / And now it’s all that’s left / All that’s left of me / Sink my teeth in the pain / Watching the world go numb / And I’m just one step from obliteration,” vocalist Richard Patrick sings.

Patrick produced “Obliteration” with longtime friend and collaborator Brian Virtue. Meanwhile, German-based filmmaker Atanas Shopski brought Patrick’s dark lyrics to live with an animated video.

“This was a great challenge for me,” Shopski said. “One that pushed me to discover my limits, creatively, artistically, mentally… We decided to go for an element of hope in this world full of despair and show the struggle of the innocent with the merciless surroundings. We follow this girl, who is the last survivor after the obliteration of her world, on her dark adventure in search for other life.”

“Obliteration” marks the second single released off “The Algorithm,” the first being “Face Down,” which arrived in May. Filter will take these new tunes on the road when they join Rob Zombie, Alice Cooper and Ministry as support on a fall North American run. The tour kicks off in August and runs through September.

Pre-save the new album, “”The Algorithm,” at this spot. Stream the music video for “Obliteration” and view the “The Algorithm” track list below.

Filter, “The Algorithm” Track List:

01. The Drowning
02. Up Against The Wall
03. For The Beaten
04. Obliteration
05. Say It Again
06. Face Down
07. Summer Children
08. Threshing Floor
09. Be Careful What You Wish For
10. Burn Out The Sun
11. Command Z

Charles Ken
Posted by Charles Ken | Music, Rock, Rock News

Related Posts