Spiritbox Readying New EP, ‘The Fear of Fear’


Image of the metal band Spiritbox

Spiritbox, “The Fear of Fear” EP details – Story by Anne Erickson, photo by Jonathan Weiner

Spiritbox, “The Fear of Fear”: The Courtney LaPlante-fronted band will release their new EP in November

Canadian heavy metal band Spiritbox is one of the most buzzed-about new bands on the circuit. The Courtney LaPlante-fronted group has announced a new six-song EP called “The Fear of Fear,” out on Nov. 3. In addition to the new album news, the band has released a new single and dark, futuristic music video for the song “Jaded.”

As for the track listing, “The Fear of Fear” will feature five new songs, as well as the previously-released single “The Void,” which dropped in April of this year. As with much of Spiritbox’s material, “Jaded” has LaPlante showing off both her clean singing chops and veracious screaming. Listen to the new song and watch the music video below.

The EP comes at a good time, as Spiritbox are slated to open for Shinedown and Papa Roach on the two bands’ upcoming tour. The run will being Sept. 3 in St. Louis, Missouri. Earlier this year, Spiritbox completed major tours in Europe and North America, including headline shows and festival dates.

“The Fear of Fear” marks the follow-up to Spiritbox’s 2021 studio debut, “Eternal Blue.” The album was a strong success for the budding band, snagging a top 20 position on the Billboard 200 chart. Spiritbox followed “Eternal Blue” with the three-song “Rotoscope” EP in 2022. The title track for the song came with a dramatic Max Moore-shot music video, which has more than 3.4 million YouTube views to date. The EP has also hit 27 million streams. Since the start of their career, Spiritbox have notched more than 400 million career streams across platforms and 76.4 million YouTube views. They also were nominated for two Juno Awards last year for Breakthrough Group Of The Year and Metal/Hard Music Album of The Year last year.

In addition to the music video for “Jaded,” view the full track listing for “The Fear of Fear” below. The EP is available for pre-order here.

The Fear of Fear Track Listing:

01. Cellar Door
02. Jaded
03. Too Close / Too Late
04. Angel Eyes
05. The Void
06. Ultraviolet

Anne Erickson
Posted by Anne Erickson | Metal, Music, Rock News