The Black Crowes: New Album Marks First Originals Since Reuniting


The Black Crowes black and white press image

The Black Crowes new album news – Author Charles Ken, Photo via Ross Halfin

The Black Crowes reunited back in 2019, but the guys haven’t released an album of original tracks together yet. That’s all about to change, though, as Chris and Rich Robinson have announced their first album of all-originals since reuniting. How’s that for some great Friday classic rock news?

The new release, called “Happiness Bastards,” will drop on March 15 via the band’s own Silver Arrow Records. In addition to the new album news, The Black Crows have released the record’s first single, “Wanting and Waiting.” Listen to the new tune below and stream or download it on various platforms here. Musically, “Wanting and Waiting” is very Black Crowes, with a catchy, raw riff and bluesy vocals.

While “Happiness Bastards” marks the band’s first album of original material since reuniting, the Robinson brothers did release a collection of cover tunes together in 2022, called “1972.” The Black Crowes’ most recent album of complete original material was 2009’s “Before the Frost…Until the Freeze.” Frankly, some bands that don’t ever break up go for a decade or longer between albums (I’m looking at you, Tool), so even though The Black Crowes “broke up” for a while, fans won’t have to go for too long between albums.

In a press release, Chris and Rich Robinson note that 2024 marks the 40th anniversary of the band’s genesis. “The Robinson Brothers are claiming this momentous year as their own,” the release states. “…While they have dealt with their share of differences over the years, they are now two happy bastards, with a triumphant album to show for it.”

Chris said, “‘Happiness Bastards’ is our love letter to rock n’ roll. Rich and I are always writing and creating music; that has never stopped for us, and it is always where we find harmony together. This record represents that.”

Rich added, “This album is a continuation of our story as a band. Our years of experience writing and making music and touring the world are represented in this record, and we were brilliantly guided by one of the best producers in the business, Jay Joyce. I am incredibly proud of what we put together.”

Chris and Rich recorded “Happiness Bastards” with Grammy Award-winning producer Jay Joyce. The album also marks The Black Crowes’ tenth studio album. Expect a “blistering record that is both fresh, yet quintessential rock n’ roll,” with the lead single serving as “an exhilarating taste of what’s to come with the signature flair and attitude of one of the most vital rock bands of this generation,” according to a release.

The press release also teases new tour dates in “North America, the U.K., and Europe,” with “additional details to be announced soon.”

You can pre-order “Happiness Bastards” here. Listen to “Wanting and Waiting” and view the full track list for the album below.

The Black Crowes, ‘Happiness Bastards,’ Track List:

01. Bedside Manners
02. Rats and Clowns
03. Cross Your Fingers
04. Wanting and Waiting
05. Wilted Rose (feat. Lainey Wilson)
06. Dirt Cold Sun
07. Bleed It Dry
08. Flesh Wound
09. Follow the Moon
10. Kindred Friend

Charles Ken
Posted by Charles Ken | Music, Rock, Rock News