Motley Crue to Release ‘Dr. Feelgood’ 30th Anniversary Reissue Package


Motley Crue’s “Dr. Feelgood” cover art – Story by Cat Badra

Happy 30th anniversary to Motley Crue’s famed 1989 album, “Dr. Feelgood”

Motley Crue’s popular 1989 album “Dr. Feelgood” celebrated its 30th anniversary last weekend, and now, the guys have announced a special reissue of the album in honor of the milestone.

“Dr. Feelgood” marked the Crue’s first album recorded completely sober. It came after Vince Neil’s famed car accident and Nikki Sixx’s near-death experience, so the guys were determined to clean up.

“After feeling robbed of a #1 album with ‘Girls Girls Girls,’ the band was hell bent on topping ourselves on every level,” bass player Nikki Sixx said in a statement. “Bringing in Bob Rock to produce and push us musically and lyrically was just what the doctor ordered…The band was clean, lean and sober and this album has some of our proudest work.”

The reissue will arrive on Nov. 29 and offer a standalone CD and vinyl with new packaging. The set will come as part of a part of a deluxe package with an extra three seven-inch vinyl picture discs, plus some random Crue goodies, such as a deck of cards and guitar picks.

“Dr. Feelgood” features the popular Motley Crue rock singles “Dr. Feelgood,” “Kickstart My Heart,” “Without You,” “Don’t Go Away Mad (Just Go Away)” and “Same Ol’ Situation (S.O.S.).” Since its release in the late-’80s, the album has been certified six-times platinum.

Earlier this year, Motley Crue made headlines when they released their much-anticipated Netflix biopic “The Dirt.” In addition to the film, the band released a soundtrack with three new Crue songs, including a cover of Madonna’s “Like a Virgin.”



Posted by Cat Badra | Music, Rock, Rock News

Related Posts