Switchfoot Frontman Jon Foreman: New Album is ‘About the Duality of Existence’

By Anne Erickson

Switchfoot via Facebook

Songs ‘Came Really Quickly’ for Switchfoot’s New Album

Just under two years have passed since alternative pop-rock band Switchfoot released their Grammy-winning album Hello Hurricane, and the guys are right on target to drop the follow-up, Vice Verses, on Sept. 27 on Atlantic Records.

Recorded this past winter with producer Neal Avron (Linkin Park, Disturbed), Switchfoot frontman Jon Foreman says the release is unique because most of the songs came quickly and fluently– something that wasn’t always the case with past albums.

“[Switchfoot’s song] ‘Mess of Me’ probably took 40 rewrites to finally get it right, and with [the album] Hello Hurricane, we tracked all these songs. But with this one it all came really quickly. 15 songs and that was it,” Foreman said in US Stream video interview on the band’s website.

As the name implies, the inspiration for Vice Verses is the “polarity of life.”

Vices Verses is about the duality of existence,” Foreman said. “Every breath you breathe, you’re breathing in life, but your breathing actually brings you closer to death. Our lives are fragile, and l think there’s a lot of coming to grips with the tensions that exist in post-modern America [on the album].”

Pre-orders for Vice Verses are available now on iTunes and on the rock band’s website, with prizes up for grabs to those who order early.

Want to catch the guys live? Switchfoot and follow melodic pop-rock band Anberlin are heading out on the road together this fall.

The track listing for Vice Verses:

1. Afterlife
2. The Original
3. The War Inside
4. Restless
5. Blinding Light
6. Selling the News
7. Thrive
8. Dark Horses
9. Souvenirs
10. Rise Above It
11. Vice Verses
12. Where I Belong


Anne Erickson

Related Posts