Daughtry, Blaqk Audio, Coheed and Cambria Featured on ‘Batman’ Video Game

Story by Charles Ken

Members of A.F.I., Daughtry, Black Rebel Motorcycle Club make up ‘Batman’ video soundtrack

“Batman: Arkham City,” one of the most anticipated videogames for Xbox 360 owners, will arrive in stores Oct. 18, and the soundtrack for the game won’t disappoint rock and alternative music fans. The album, titled Batman: Arkham City – the Album, will feature 12 new and original songs by Daughtry, Coheed and Cambria, Panic! At The Disco, Blaqk Audio (feature Davey Havok and Jade Puget of A.F.I.), Black Rebel Motorcycle Club, Serj Tankian, the Boxer Rebellion, the Duke Spirit, The Raveonettes and more. Fans won’t have to wait until Oct. 18 to get their ears on the collection, as the album will be released Oct. 4, two weeks before the game’s official North American release.

Bands on the album put together tracks exclusively for the purpose of the Batman mix, and each approached their involvement with their own individual interpretations of the stories surrounding Batman. From that, fans get a diverse blend of vibrant, moody songs that shadow the dark feel of Batman movies.

“I write in a very conceptual format with the stories that surround Coheed and Cambria, but Batman has a much larger, defined history and rules that go along with it,” Coheed and Cambria frontman Claudio Sanchez said of the album. “My goal was to find universal themes from Batman’s existing history to help give the lyrics legs and dimension so that the song could live within that world.”

As for the game, the synopsis promises “a brand-new story that draws together a new all-star cast of classic characters and murderous villains from the Batman universe, as well as a vast range of new and enhanced gameplay features…” Fans may pre-order “Batman: Arkham City” the video game and receive updates regarding the release of both the game and album on the game’s official website. The album is a partnership between Warner Bros. Interactive Entertainment, WaterTower Music and DC Entertainment.

‘Batman: Arkham City’ Track Listing:

1. Panic! At The Disco, “Mercenary”
2. Coheed and Cambria, “Deranged”
3. The Duke Spirit, “Creature”
4. Black Rebel Motorcycle Club, “Shadow on the Run”
5. Blaqk Audio, “Afterdark”
6. The Raveonettes, “Oh, Stranger”
7. ††† (Crosses), “The Years”
8. The Damned Things, “Trophy Widow”
9. Daughtry, “Drown In You”
10. The Boxer Rebellion, “Losing You”
11. Serj Tankian, “Total Paranoia”


Posted by Charles Ken | Alternative, Music, Rock, Rock News

Related Posts