Screaming Trees’ Mark Lanegan Readies Solo LP – 2012 New Album Outlook


Story by Cat Badra

Mark Lanegan teams with Queens of the Stone Age’s Josh Homme and more for 2012 release

Mark Lanegan broke out as a talented vocalist in ‘80s and ‘90s grunge rock outfit Screaming Trees, and now, the singer is prepping to release a new album under the moniker, the Mark Lanegan Band. The album, Blues Funeral, will drop Feb. 7 in the U.S. Glance at the complete track listing at the bottom of the page.

Recorded in Hollywood, Calif., by Alain Johannes at his 11AD studio, the musical throng features contributions by former Red Hot Chili Peppers and Pearl Jam drummer Jack Irons, Twilight Singers frontman Greg Dulli and even Queens of the Stone Age main man Josh Homme! The LP is Lanegan’s first solo release of original music since 2004’s Bubblegum.

For those who can’t wait until February, the album’s lead single, “The Gravedigger’s Song,” will be released as a 7” backed with a new version of Langegan’s track, “Burning Jacob’s Ladder,” Jan. 2. The 7” will be issued on a special colored vinyl. For more information on the 7” and upcoming album, visit Lanegan’s official website.

Blues Funeral Track Listing:

1. “The Gravedigger’s Song”
2. “Bleeding Muddy Water”
3. “Gray Goes Black”
4. “St Louis Elegy”
5. “Riot In My House”
6. “Ode To Sad Disco”
7. “Phantasmagoria Blues”
8. “Quiver Syndrome”
9. “Harborview Hospital”
10. “Leviathan”
11. “Deep Black Vanishing Train”
12. “Tiny Grain of Truth”


Cat Badra
Posted by Cat Badra | Grunge, Music, Rock News

Related Posts