Red Hot Chili Peppers to Drop 18 Previously Unreleased ‘I’m with You’ Sides


Story by Cat Badra

Funk-rockers Red Hot Chili Peppers will release 18 new tracks to fans over the next year

For those who picked up Red Hot Chili Peppers’ latest album, “I’m With You,” but still want more Peppers, the band has a few more tracks up their funk-rock sleeves. The guys announced today (June 18) that they will unleash 18 previously unreleased sides from the “I’m With You” sessions, and each track will be available both digitally and on vinyl, with two sides per seven-inch.

As for the specifics, the first pair of sides – “Strange Man” on the A-side and “Long Progression” on the B-side — will arrive on Aug. 14. The second pair of sides – “Magpies” and “Victorian Machinery” — will drop on Sept. 11. The third pair – “Never Is a Long Time” and “Love of Your Life” — will be out on Oct. 2. The rest of the sides will be announced soon, but the fourth pair will arrive on Nov. 6; the fifth pair on Dec. 4; and the sixth pair on Dec. 18. The final two pairs will arrive in early 2013. Fans will be able to combine the cover art from each of the releases to create one big piece of artwork.

“Finding songs that seem to want to join hands with others is a special task that require the right people… and the right songs!” said Red Hot Chili Peppers guitarist Josh Klinghoffer. “Some songs seem to have a lot more of an agenda than others. Some songs play well with others and some songs need more attention and a little extra care. Here are some songs that seemed to want to pair up and take a later train. Keep your eye on them, they’re up to something…” (Courtesy photo: Ellen Von Unwerth.)




Posted by Cat Badra | Alternative, Music, Rock, Rock News

Related Posts