MGMT Announce Release Date for New Album


Story by Cat Badra

MGMT have pinned down a release date for their upcoming, self-titled album

MGMT are currently on the road, but even with the live gigs plentiful, the guys had yet to announce details about their upcoming album– until now. MGMT have announced that their much-anticipated follow-up to 2010’s “Congratulations” will arrive on store shelves and at online outlets on Sept. 17. The release will be self-titled.

The upcoming album was recorded at Tarbox Road Studios and with longtime collaborator Dave Fridmann, who was the co-producer and mixer of “Oracular Spectacular” and “Congratulations” and has worked with the Flaming Lips and Tame Impala. Expect ten songs on the release, including a cover of “Introspection” by 1960s cult group Faine Jade.

MGMT’s debut single off the release, “Alien Days,” was released on vinyl in April in support of this year’s Record Store Day event.

In other MGMT news, the band is staring up a long list of summer tour dates, including sets at a series of North American festivals, including Summerfest in Milwaukee (July 3), the Bunbury Festival in Cincinnati (July 13), First City Festival in Monterey, Calif. (Aug. 24), FYF Festival in Los Angeles (Aug. 25) and Bumbershoot Festival in Seattle (Sept. 2). For a full list of the band’s upcoming tour dates, visit MGMT’s official website.

Track Listing for MGMT’s Upcoming Self-Titled Album:

“Alien Days”
“Cool Song No. 2”
“Mystery Disease”
“Your Life Is a Lie”
“A Good Sadness”
“I Love You Too, Death”
“Plenty of Girls in the Sea”
“An Orphan of Fortune”



Posted by Cat Badra | Alternative, Music, Rock News

Related Posts