Smashing Pumpkins Announce Double Album, ‘CYR’


Story by Cat Badra, photo by Ken Settle

Billy Corgan and the Smashing Pumpkins will unleash a 20-song set, “CYR,” in November

The Smashing Pumpkins are keeping busy this year, as the Billy Corgan-fronted band is gearing up to release a new double album, “CYR,” on Nov. 27.

The upcoming collection will feature 20 songs. Two of the track are already out, including the title track and opening song, “The Colour of Love,” and they’ll be joined by 18 new, original songs from the Pumpkins.

“CYR” marks the Smashing Pumpkins’ follow-up to 2018’s “Shiny and Oh So Bright, Vol. 1/LP: No Past. No Future. No Sun.” The latter album was the band’s first in roughly two decades to bring together founding members Billy Corgan, James Iha and Jimmy Chamberlin. The Pumpkins toured extensively after releasing “Shiny and Oh So Bright,” so chances are, Corgan and company plan to tour on “CYR” when touring is back.

In addition to announcing “CYR,” the Pumpkins have kicked off an animated web series surrounding the album. Corgan wrote and created the five-part project, called “In Ashes,” and the episodes feature songs from CYR. The first two episodes debut Friday (Sept. 25).

The Smashing Pumpkins’ “CYR” Track List:

“The Colour of Love”
“Confessions of a Dopamine Addict”
“Dulcet in E”
“Anno Santana”
“Birch Grove”
“Purple Blood”
“Save Your Tears”
“Black Forest, Black Hills”
“The Hidden Sun”
“Tyger, Tyger”

Cat Badra
Posted by Cat Badra | Alternative, Music, Rock News

Related Posts