Kiss’ Paul Stanley to Release Debut Album with Soul Station


Kiss performing at Little Caesars Arena in Detroit, Michigan.

Kiss – Story by Anne Erickson, photo by Ken Settle

Paul Stanley of KISS will release the debut album with his side project, “Paul Stanley’s Soul Station,” this spring

KISS frontman Paul Stanley introduced his side project, Paul Stanley’s Soul Station, back in 2015, showing a different musical side of himself. The project, which features a bevy of R&B and soul music, will finally release its debut album, “Now and Then,” March 5.

The 14-track album offers nine classic soul and R&B covers, as well as five originals. Ahead of the release, Soul Station has released a digital rendition of The Five Stairsteps’ 1970 song “O-O-H Child.” The song is also on the band’s YouTube channel with a short documentary about the making of the album.

“Long before I ever heard the great British bands, I grew up listening to Philly Soul, Motown and so much more,” Stanley said in a statement. “That music and its storytelling gave me strength and hope even in some tough days. The great classics of that era are magical medicine for most and I felt myself drawn back to that era for some sorcery I think we could all use.”

Soul Station features Stanley alongside KISS drummer Eric Singer, plus a guitarist, a bassist, two keyboardists, a percussionist, three backing singers and multiple horn and string players, totaling a whopping 15 players. Other cover versions that appear on “Now and Then” include are songs by The Temptations, Smokey Robinson & The Miracles, Al Green, The Spinners, The Delfonics, The Styistics and The Four Tops.

“Between us doing some great Soul Station shows and starting the album, I started to think that neither the band or the music we love should depend only on the past so I started writing with the goal of seamlessly taking songs into the present,” Stanley said regarding the choices in cover tracks.

Paul Stanley’s Soul Station, ‘Here’s the Now and Then’ Track List:

“Could It Be I’m Falling In Love”
“I Do”
“I, Oh I”
“Ooo Baby Baby”
“O-O-H Child”
“Save Me (From You)”
“Just My Imagination (Running Away with Me)”
“Whenever You’re Ready (I’m Here)”
“The Tracks of My Tears”
“Let’s Stay Together”
“La-La – Means I Love You”
“You Are Everything”
“Baby I Need Your Loving”



Related Posts