Weezer Prepping Two New Albums, ‘OK Human’ and ‘Van Weezer’


Photo of Rivers Cuomo of Weezer performing at Soaring Eagle in Mount Pleasant, Michigan.

Weezer frontman Rivers Cuomo – Story by Cat Badra, photo by Anne Erickson

Weezer will release two new albums this year: “OK Human” and “Van Weezer”

Weezer are gearing up to release not one by two new studio albums. While the band previously announced their new album, “Van Weezer,” would arrive this spring, Rivers Cuomo and company have dropped the news that another full, new album will arrive sooner.

Weezer will release “OK Human,” the companion record to the upcoming “Van Weezer,” Jan. 29. The album’s lead single, “All My Favorite Songs,” dropped Thursday (Jan. 21) and is available now via digital outlets. The song, which features rich orchestrations and piano, may be streamed via YouTube below.

The album’s name, “OK Human,” is obviously a take on the classic Radiohead album, “OK Computer,” or as Weezer describes it, a “cheeky nod” to Thom Yorke and company. The Jake Sinclair-produced album is said to be a more piano-driven, orchestral compliment to the guitar-drenched “Van Weezer,” boasting a 38-piece orchestra and the “most personal songs Cuomo has written in the last decade,” according to a release. Meanwhile, Weezer describes “Van Weezer” as having “big riffs rock” that pays “homage to the metal bands they loved growing up,” such as Van Halen.

“Van Weezer” will arrive May 7. The album, which features the singles “The End of the Game” and “Hero,” was slated to arrive in May 2020, but the release date was postponed due to the coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic.

Weezer are scheduled to head out on a major tour this summer, the Hella Mega tour, alongside Green Day and Fall Out Boy. The tour was originally slated for last summer but was delayed due to the pandemic.

Weezer features Cuomo, guitarist Brian Bell, bass player Scott Shriner and drummer Pat Wilson.

Weezer, ‘OK Human,’ Track List:

“All My Favorite Songs”
“Aloo Gobi”
“Grapes of Wrath”
“Playing My Piano”
“Mirror Image”
“Bird with a Broken Wing”
“Dead Roses”
“Everything Happens for a Reason”
“Here Comes the Rain”
“La Brea Tar Pits”

Cat Badra
Posted by Cat Badra | Alternative, Music, Rock, Rock News

Related Posts