Myles Kennedy Announces New Solo Album, ‘The Ides of March’


Myles Kennedy of Alter Bridge and Slash pictured on a snowy hill.

Myles Kennedy – Story by Anne Erickson, photo by Chuck Brueckman

Myles Kennedy new album details: “The Ides of March,” Kennedy’s new solo album, will feature a collection of plugged-in, guitar-centric tunes

After months of waiting for Myles Kennedy new album news, the details are finally here. The Alter Bridge frontman and Slash vocalist has announced the details of his much-anticipated new solo album. The new record, called “The Ides of March,” will arrive May 14 and mark Kennedy’s follow-up to his 2018 solo debut, “Year of the Tiger,” via Napalm records.

“The Ides of March” will be vastly different from “Year of the Tiger,” the latter which was a stripped-down, acoustic album. With “The Ides of March,” expect a plugged-in, amped-up collection of electric guitar-based tunes. The debut single from “The Ides of March” is a blues-heavy rock number called “In Stride,” which is available for digital download now via digital outlets and streaming services. The album gets experimental, too, as the record’s title track runs more than seven minutes long.

Performers on “The Ides of March” include Kennedy’s longtime friend and drummer Zia Uddin and bass player/manager Tim Tournier. Kennedy, Uddin and Tournier traveled to Florida to record the album with longtime producer Michael “Elvis” Baskette.

“The lyric paints a picture of a survivalist preparing for an impending zombie apocalypse,” Kennedy says of “In Stride” in a statement. “It was inspired by the first wave of lockdowns as everyone was buying vast amounts of toilet paper and supplies. I started to ask myself if it might be wise to try and gain some perspective and not overreact…keep calm and carry on.”

Watch the music video for “In Stride” below. The video features the return by Stefano Bertelli, who crafted the “Native Son” video for Alter Bridge, and depicts an animated Kennedy as he takes the end of the world in stride. For pre-order information, visit Kennedy’s “The Ides of March” pre-order page.

Myles Kennedy, “The Ides of March” Track Listing:

“Get Along”
“A Thousand Words”
“In Stride”
“The Ides of March”
“Wake Me When It’s Over”
“Love Rain Down”
“Tell It Like It Is”
“Wanderlust Begins”
“Sifting Through the Fire”
“Worried Mind”

Anne Erickson
Posted by Anne Erickson | Music, Rock, Rock News

Related Posts