Red Hot Chili Peppers Announce New Album, ‘Unlimited Love’


The members of band member the Red Hot Chili Peppers standing in the sunlight for a promo shot.

Red Hot Chili Peppers – Story by Anne Erickson, photo by Carla Jespersen

Red Hot Chili Peppers are prepping their first album with longtime guitarist John Frusciante since 2006

After months of teasing, Red Hot Chili Peppers have announced that their new album, “Unlimited Love,” will arrive this April on Warner Records. The album, which marks their follow-up to 2016’s “The Getaway,” will feature 17 new songs, including lead single “Black Summer,” which the band released in conjunction with the album news.

“Our only goal is to get lost in the music,” the band said in a collective statement. “We (John, Anthony, Chad and Flea) spent thousands of hours, collectively and individually, honing our craft and showing up for one another, to make the best album we could. Our antennae attuned to the divine cosmos, we were just so damn grateful for the opportunity to be in a room together, and, once again, try to get better. Days, weeks and months spent listening to each other, composing, jamming freely, and arranging the fruit of those jams with great care and purpose. The sounds, rhythms, vibrations, words and melodies had us enrapt.”

“We yearn to shine a light in the world, to uplift, connect, and bring people together,” the band added. “Each of the songs on our new album Unlimited Love, is a facet of us, reflecting our view of the universe. This is our life’s mission. We work, focus, and prepare, so that when the biggest wave comes, we are ready to ride it. The ocean has gifted us a mighty wave and this record is the ride that is the sum of our lives. Thank you for listening, we hope you enjoy it…”

“Unlimited Love” will mark the Peppers’ first album with longtime guitarist John Frusciante since 2006 and first with famed producer Rick Rubin since 2011.

“When we got together to start writing material, we began by playing old songs by people like Johnny ‘Guitar’ Watson, The Kinks, The New York Dolls, Richard Barrett and others,” Frusciante said in a statement. “Ever so gradually, we started bringing in new ideas, and turning jams into songs, and after a couple of months the new stuff was all we were playing. The feeling of effortless fun we had when we were playing songs by other people, stayed with us the whole time we were writing. For me, this record represents our love for, and faith in each other.”

View the full track listing for Red Hot Chili Peppers’ “Unlimited Love” below. Listen to the new single, “Black Summer,” below.

Red Hot Chili Peppers “Unlimited Love” Track List:

1. Black Summer
2. Here Ever After
3. Aquatic Mouth Dance
4. Not The One
5. Poster Child
6. The Great Apes
7. It’s Only Natural
8. She’s A Lover
9. These Are The Ways
10. Whatchu Thinkin’
11. Bastards of Light
12. White Braids & Pillow Chair
13. One Way Traffic
14. Veronica
15. Let ‘Em Cry
16. The Heavy Wing
17. Tangelo

Anne Erickson
Latest posts by Anne Erickson (see all)
Posted by Anne Erickson | Alternative, Music, Rock, Rock News

Related Posts