Slipknot Readying New Album, ‘The End, So Far’ + Release ‘The Dying Song (Time to Sing)’


Image of metal band Slipknot standing against a black background

Slipknot – Story by Anne Erickson, courtesy photo

Slipknot are back with a heavy new single, “The Dying Song (Time to Sing),” off the band’s upcoming seventh studio album

Slipknot made a surprise announcement on Tuesday (July 19) and released details about their seventh studio album, “The End, So Far,” plus released the album’s new lead single, “The Dying Song (Time to Sing).” The news also comes with a music video, featuring the longtime masked metal act out of Iowa.

“The Dying Song (Time to Sing)” shows a new side of Slipknot, with lead vocalist Corey Taylor kicking off the heavy track by singing an a cappella passage before launching into the primal, “Die, die, die.” The band then deliveres the kind of Slipknot song that fans have come to expect, with heavy riffs and Taylor’s powerful vocals.

“The End, So Far” will arrive on Sept. 30. The release is the follow-up to 2019’s “We Are Not Your Kind” and will feature 12 tracks. “The End, So Far” was co-produced by Slipknot and Joe Barresi (Chevelle, Bad Religion), who has mixed several previous Slipknot albums, including “We Are Not Your Kind.”

In addition to the new single, the album will feature 2021’s pre-release single, “The Chapeltown Rag.” Watch the full music video for “The Dying Song (Time to Sing)” below.

In other news, Slipknot is currently touring the U.S. on their “Knotfest Roadshow” jaunt. The tour runs through September and feature support from Ice Nine Kills and Crown the Empire. It’s a safe bet that “The Dying Song (Time to Sing)” will be on the band’s setlist here on out. For more information and tickets, visit Slipknot’s official website.

Slipknot’s “The End, So Far” Track List:

1. Adderall
2. The Dying Song (Time to Sing)
3. The Chapeltown Rag
4. Yen
5. Hivemind
6. Warranty
7. Medicine for the Dead
8. Acidic
9. Heirloom
10. H377
11. De Sade
12. Finale

Posted by Anne Erickson | Metal, Music, Rock News

Related Posts