Sum 41 Are Breaking Up, and Their Final Album is Very Metal


Sum 41 band photo.

Sum 41 – Author Anne Erickson, Photo via Travis Shinn

Sum 41 are officially breaking up, and they’ve announced their final album together as a band. The Grammy-nominated group will release “Heaven :x: Hell,” which is a double-album, on March 29 via Rise Records. It’s worth noting that March 29 is the “expected” release date, according to a press release, so that date could change. I know, the Sum 41 breaking up news is sad, but at least we have two albums of material to remember them by.

“Heaven :x: Hell” is Sum 41’s “most ambitious album” yet, states a release, featuring 10 songs with “snarling high energy pop punk, while Hell consists of ten heavy metal anthems spiked with fret-burning solos, thrashing riffs and fist-pumping hooks.” The band actually goes metal here, with heavy guitars and a heavy metal vibe.

The idea behind “Heaven :x: Hell” is that one side of the double album is very classic Sum 41 and pop-punk, while the other side is extremely metal. Get ready to headbang here.

If you think metal and Sum 41 is a new combination, think again. A press release states that, “the band has been straddling the line of pop-punk and metal for their entire career,” which I personally think is a bit of a stretch. I mean, Sum 41 have been much more punk than metal their entire career. The release goes on to say the album “is a testament to their innovative sound and unmatched skill, proving them as pioneers 27 years after the bands inception.” The album is available to pre-save and pre-order now here.

Regarding the new album, singer Deryck Whibley says, “Once I heard the music, I was confident enough to say, ‘This is the record I’d like to go out on.’ We’ve made a double album of pop punk and metal, and it makes sense. It took a long time for us to pave this lane for ourselves, but we did, and it’s unique to us.”

Ahead of the album’s release, Sum 41 have also released a new single and music video for the track “Rise Up,” the first song off the album’s metal side. “Rise Up” kicks off with tons of guitars and thumping drums, creating a super heavy and headbanging-worthy sound. “Writing ‘Rise Up,’ I felt the way I did when I first got signed,” Whibley says. “I felt the pressure and the need to create something great, but I felt so excited at the same time.” The song is available to stream here, and you can watch the music video below.

“Rise Up” marks the second song Sum 41 have released off this double album, the first being “Landmines,” off the pop-punk “Heaven” side of the double album. The new song is classic Sum 41, featuring a melodic chorus, plenty of hooks and an upbeat vibe.

Sum 41 ‘Heaven :x: Hell’ Track List:


01. Waiting On A Twist Of Fate
02. Landmines
03. I Can’t Wait
04. Time Won’t Wait
05. Future Primitive
06. Dopamine
07. Not Quite Myself
08. Bad Mistake
09. Johnny Libertine
10. Radio Silence


01. Preparasi A Salire
02. Rise Up
03. Stranger In These Times
04. I Don’t Need Anyone
05. Over The Edge
06. House Of Liars
07. You Wanted War
08. Paint It Black
09. It’s All Me
10. How The End Begins

Anne Erickson
Latest posts by Anne Erickson (see all)
Posted by Anne Erickson | Alternative, Metal, Music, Rock, Rock News

Related Posts