The Offspring Announce New Album, ‘Supercharged’


The Offspring sitting in a bus.

The Offspring new album news – Author Charles Ken, Photo via Daveed Benito

It’s wild to see how many bands that were huge decades ago are still churning out new music. The Offspring are actually at the younger end of “classic” bands, but it’s still pretty impressive that they formed in the early-to-mid 1980s and are still creating new music and touring today. Now, the punk rockers have announced their 11th studio album, “SUPERCHARGED,” out Oct. 11. They’ve also shared the first single off the set, “Make It All Right.”

The Offspring New Album News

“Make It All Right” is a summer anthem, with a super catchy, pop-infused chorus and “ba-ba-da” sing-a-long hook. It has huge power-pop riffing and the very recognizable energetic vocals of lead singer Dexter Holland. It’s a fun, feel-good song that really fits the warm summer months. Having an upbeat song like “Make It All Right” out there right now is nice, too, because a lot of bands tend to get more serious as they age and put out more reflective, darker stuff. Not that there’s anything wrong with that, but it’s nice to see The Offspring embracing their happy side.

When it comes to The Offspring new album news, Holland says the guys had a blast doing this record.

“We wanted this record to have pure energy — from the start to the finish!” remarked Holland in a press release. “From the height of our aspirations to the depths of our struggles, we talk about it all on this record…in a way that celebrates the life that we share and where we are now. Our single ‘Make It All Right’ is a great example of this because it talks about the people in our lives who make us feel strong when we are feeling low – our partners in crime who make us feel all right.”

The Offspring recorded “SUPERCHARGED” in Maui, Vancouver and the group’s home studio in Huntington Beach, California, with producer Bob Rock.

“I feel like this is the best we have ever sounded!” Holland added. “We’ve been rocking out and headbanging to it for months! And we can’t wait for you guys to hear it!”

In addition to the new music, The Offspring have some European festival dates up ahead, two U.S. festival appearances at the Inkcarceration Festival on July 19 in Mansfield, Ohio, and at the Louder Than Life festival on Sept. 26 in Louisville, Kentucky, and headlining tour dates.

Last week, The Offspring performed at Napa’s BottleRock Festival and welcomed pop star Ed Sheeran to join them on the stage. Sheeran is a major fan of The Offspring and surprised the crowd and performed “Million Miles Away” from the band’s “Conspiracy of One” album. Also, earlier that day, Sheeran rehearsed with the band backstage and showed them his Offspring tattoo inspired by “Conspiracy of One.” The band introduced Sheeran by saying, “We were hanging out backstage and somebody said this was one of their favorite songs in the history of songs and he said he might be open to playing it with us. So, let’s give him a shot, you know?”

“SUPERCHARGED” is available for pre-order now via Concord Records. Listen to “Make It All Right” and view the official track list below.

The Offspring, ‘SUPERCHARGED’ Track List:

01. Looking Out for #1
02. Light It Up
03. The Fall Guy
04. Make It All Right
05. Ok, But This Is the Last Time
06. Truth in Fiction
07. Come to Brazil
08. Get Some
09. Hanging by a Thread
10. You Can’t Get There From Here

Charles Ken
Posted by Charles Ken | Alternative, Music, Rock News

Related Posts