Seether Return with New Album, ‘The Surface Seems So Far’


Seether. Seether have announced a new album, "The Surface Seems So Far."

Seether have announced a new album, “The Surface Seems So Far.” – Author Cat Badra, Photo via Alex Berger

It’s hard to believe, but the post-grunge bands of the early-2000s are becoming, well, classic. Bands such as Seether have been making music for more than two decades at this point, and some even call their music “dad rock.” That’s depressing, but what’s not depressing is that Seether have announced a new album, “The Surface Seems So Far.”

Seether: New Album, ‘The Surface Seems So Far’

Shaun Morgan and Seether will release their ninth studio album, “The Surface Seems So Far,” this fall. In advance of the album, which will drop on Sept. 20 via Fantasy Records, Seether have also released the first single off the album, the heavy “Judas Mind.” A press release describes the new album as “unapologetically aggressive,” so expect some heavy-hitters.

“‘Judas Mind’ is a song about reaching an understanding that there are bad actors in our lives that are trying to force an outcome for us that we don’t see as our destiny,” Morgan said in a statement. “It’s about rising up against people who have a vision for you that you don’t share.” That’s a really good theme and something to which many people can relate. Who hasn’t felt, at some point in their life, like someone was trying to force their vision on them?

As for the rest of “The Surface Seems So Far,” which marks the band’s follow-up to 2020’s “Si Vis Pacem, Para Bellum,” expect “an honest and exhilarating journey through themes of melancholy (“Regret”), self-reflection (“Same Mistakes”), and raw emotion (“Dead on the Vine”), with catchy hooks and driving bombast emphasizing its many twists and turns.” Band members “sound alternately confident and confessional, full of vitriol and vulnerability throughout The Surface Seems So Far, which Morgan produced with veteran producer Matt Hyde (Deftones, Slayer) as engineer and mixer.”

Seether will also take these new songs on the road this fall on a co-headlining tour with Skillet. The 18-date tour will set off Sept. 17 in Asheville and close out Oct. 20 in Minneapolis. Seether will also make appearances at Louder Than Life and Aftershock Festival this fall.

Seether features Morgan alongside Dale Stewart (bass), John Humphrey (drums), and Corey Lowery (guitar). Listen to “Judas Mind” below. Also, check out the track listing for the album below.

Seether, “The Surface Seems So Far” Track Listing:

01. Judas Mind
02. Illusion
03. Beneath The Veil
04. Semblance Of Me
05. Walls Come Down
06. Try To Heal
07. Paint The World
08. Same Mistakes
09. Lost All Control
10. Dead On The Vine
11. Regret

Cat Badra
Posted by Cat Badra | Grunge, Music, Rock, Rock News

Related Posts