Thom Yorke and Flea Announce Details on Atoms for Peace Debut


Story by Anne Erickson

Supergroup Atoms for Peace is set to release their two-song debut this August

Although Thom Yorke has been busy touring with Radiohead this year, his side group, Atoms for Peace, is still in the forefront of his mind. Yorke formed the supergroup towards the end of 2009, bringing together the talents of bass player Flea from Red Hot Chili Peppers, Radiohead producer Nigel Godrich, percussionist Mauro Refosco and drummer Joey Waronker.

At long last, the band is ready to unleash their two-track debut release, “50WEAPONSXTR01.” Yep, the set will include just two songs: an Atoms for Peace remix of a never-before-released track by Other Lives (a five-piece act hailing from Stillwater, Okla.), called “Tamer Animals,” and a “Stuck Together Remix” of Atoms for Peace’s debut single “Other Side.” The release will arrive on Modeselektor’s 50 Weapons imprint.

Curious about the sound? Atoms for Peace’s special remix of “Tamer Animals” is streaming now on Soundcloud. The sound is delightfully low-key, with a lo-fi, analog feel. “50WEAPONSXTR01” will arrive on 12” vinyl and via digital outlets on Aug. 3. Fans may pre-order the release at the Monkeytown Records website.




Related Posts